We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King's Croft Hotel

Save Saved
You added King's Croft Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King's Croft Hotel
Wakefield Road, Pontefract WF8 4HA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Pontefract
Southampton, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

A very nice hotel with very friendly staff. The hotel grounds are amazing, even in winter, obviously intended for wedding photography.

There was a hiccup with my online booking (through Booking.com), but luckily they had a room available anyway.

The room was clean and spacious with an en-suite shower room.

I had the full English breakfast, which was excellent. Tea, coffee and orange juice were available to help-yourself to.

I'd have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    24
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
25
24
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

New Years Eve at Kings Croft 2013. Fantastic time was had by myself, wife, and two friends. We've been here a few years now and the quality has never slipped. The buffet was fantastic and the entertainment (Tina Turner) was superb. This must be one of the best venues in Yorkshire for value for money, keep up the good work. See you next time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed there Christmas Day 2013 and we loved it. The staff were so friendly and the building itself WOW. It has a lovely feel to the place and will definitely be staying there again. The staff were so nice and we were made to feel welcome at all times.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Bungalows all I can say is very very nice easy access, smashing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Married here may 1st 2011. Everything was just as we wanted, and slight niggles were sorted promptly. Staff were very professional and welcoming. The day before we were married we had to rearrange some of the table settings (our fault not the hotels) all I had to do was tell them the new settings and they made the new table plan. The dj made the night with our tracks that we emailed to him. And he made sure that everyone was up dancing. Totally wonderful staff who made us feel that we were the only ones there, and who also check with us regular if they was anything else we needed. Food lovely too

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Went to Kings Croft in a party of 30, we went to see a Michael Buble tribute act and have a Christmas party night. The food was spot on, cannot find fault with it at all. The entertainment was very good too, waiting staff brilliant, cannot find a negative thing to say, best meal I've ever had there

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We held a famly reunion here at the weekend & have mixed feelings about the hotel.
The Party - great atmosphere due to a busy room and excellent band. The DJ was also great & had us dancing until the end.
The food - the party food was plentiful, simple roast done well with generous portions. The breakfast however...appauling! Not only was the whole thing self service - the staff can't even pour you a fresh pot of tea, but the standard of the food was terrible. The eggs rubbery, beans cold & cheap, bacon all over cooked & everything drippig in grease. After a good party night you need a good breakfast to set you up for the day...not here! The orange juice was Asda smart price (openly filled up in plain view). Very sad.
The room - looked lovely but far too hot & only a door to let the air in so no window available. Having looked everywhere for heating controls we finally found them in the skirting board.
Staff - the most disappointing part was the lack of personality from any staff - there were no pleasantries - all faceless zombies.

If the party hadn't been so good due to a cracking back & great crowd plus a full belly it would have been a huge disappointment.

Room Tip: We only saw our room & the bridal suite - this looked lovely with a massive four poster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was our second visit in just over a month, the first visit was excellent the second was good but the let down was the reception and room. The room was ok until the next morning when we tried to use the shower and no water came out until 10 minutes later and there was a fan that started up at 5.30am that woke me up. The food was excellent both breakfast and dinner.
We will go back but will avoid that room, we will ask for one of the new bungalow rooms we had last time they were great.

Room Tip: choose one of the new bungalows they are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to King's Croft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Croft Hotel

Address: Wakefield Road, Pontefract WF8 4HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Pontefract
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Pontefract
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your King's Croft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Croft Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.