We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smoothly run hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King's Croft Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added King's Croft Hotel to your Saves list
King's Croft Hotel
Wakefield Road, Pontefract WF8 4HA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pontefract
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“smoothly run hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Arrived Sunday 10th April, receptionist was efficient and helpful, in fact I found all the staff had been trained to do their repective job to a very high standard without being over familiar they were friendly indeed. The Hotel was clean throughout. My room was comfortable with crisp clean bedding and had been cleaned by Kim and agie or someone similar. large TV too. The Hotel restuarant was very good value and whoever is in the kitchen knows how to cook.
The gardens were in very good order, some paving works were being carried outside but the gardens were big enough so that it was'nt a problem. It makes a change to stay in such a well run hotel. Only problem, no newspaper available on the Sunday, but if thats the worst thing I can say about this hotel it's nothing to worry about.

Room Tip: Relax in the garden wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    26
    26
    10
    4
See reviews for
31
25
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Number one, you DON'T want room 6 (tiny single) or room 7 (very small double), there are ventilation fans outside these rooms which means you have to sleep with the windows closed.
As others have said, the rooms vary widely and you need to be sure of what you are getting. Rooms 1 or 2 would be very pleasant.
I found the office staff rather inefficient via phone and email, and the bill was wrong when we checked out.
The cleaning staff seem to have better 'people skills' than the front of house staff.
We had no issues with cleanliness.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Lovely room, beauiful staff, and all that I needed was taken care of in a superb way.
Room 16, a beautiful room, gave me the privacy I wanted and needed, and roll top bath and shower area were the additional touches that made this stay a real treat.
I will make it a wish to stay there again very soon. I loved it.
Special thanks to the reception staff, and breakfast staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

We went to the hotel for a family wedding and were impressed with the friendly and efficient service and the wedding food. Unfortunately, breakfast, despite not being late down for it, seemed to have dried out and was not very warm. The rooms vary greatly in size. One of our party was in a very large room which I would have described as a suite but paid the same rate as my son and his wife who had a small double bed with just room to move around it, no wardrobe, desk or chair though the bathroom was well appointed. The size did not worry them unduly as they were only there for one night but the cost of the rooms should reflect their size.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

We had a lovely day at a family wedding we checked in the night before prios to the wedding to find our room very dissapointing. Very small double bed good shower but half sink with a very dangerous glass shelf sticking out and therefore you could not get a shave or wash your face - firstlt as it was too small then secondly you banged your face if you tried. The wardrobes were a joke they tipped forward when you opened the door and rattled. The curtains were purely decorative and although there was a blackout blind in winter its nice to close them to keep the cold out. the toilet dripped all night too!!! It was very clean however but had to ask for more towels as it was a bit sparce with very small hand towel and a bath towel not enough for us certainlyy. the breakfast was VERY good and the day was fab. We paid £55 per night which is cheap i no but my relation by some fluke stayed only on the wedding night and had a beautiflu room for the same money and it was the same as the bridal suite.
No phone for receptioneither so any queries or faults etc you had to go down and sort it. we are used to better - I would love to go to another function but be wary of the rooms we were in room 3 very poor 1 and 2 were exceptional. My relations also had poor rooms the singles were more like cupboards Really!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We held my daughters wedding reception here and the staff including John and Sean did everything they could to ensure everything went as i wanted it and we all had a brilliant time. The bride and grooms room was upgraded at no extra charge. Nothing was too much trouble and very reasonably priced for everything. The furnishings and decor is beautiful and so are the gardens. Room 10 is above a disco though and very noisy long after we had retired but thanks Kings Croft for a memorable day.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010 via mobile

Wanted to like this place but too many things let it down. Greeting on reception was friendly and service overall not bad. Room very small and bathroom even smaller. Did have iron and hair dryer but no phone in room. Made worse by fact couldn't get mobile signal on either o2 or vodaphone. Understand not hotels fault but not good to be staying somewhere with no contact. To be fair there was free wifi but it was so slow i gave up using

Little space for clothes and no coat hangers in room at all. I did ask at reception but when they came they. were mix and match from local stores and most were kids so no good for suits or trousers. Plumbing hot water not brilliant either. Hotel does have potential but they seem more interested in delivering functions than they do basic rooms. Could be so much better with a little more attention to detail

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to King's Croft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Croft Hotel

Address: Wakefield Road, Pontefract WF8 4HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Pontefract
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Pontefract
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your King's Croft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King's Croft Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.