We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Samsi Wilmslow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samsi Yakitori

Samsi Yakitori
4 Warham Street, Wilmslow SK9 1BT, England
01625 548227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 74 restaurants in Wilmslow
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery
Description: SAMSI has been trading for 19 years in April, specialising in Japanese cuisine and food stuff. It began as an award-winning restaurant, which quickly expanded into four different cities in the North west of England. In response to customer request we began importing and selling ingredients in retail sizes while continuing to search Japan for the highest quality restaurant ingredients.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Samsi Wilmslow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

1st time for me in a Japanese restaurant so we tried the special offer menu and took advice and tried the sushi and tempura as a side dish. This was an excellent decision as they gave us a wide selection. We went early in the evening and the service was excellent. The food was plentiful and perhaps a bitt too much as we were both stuffed. Can't understand some of the negative reviews as we had an excellent experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    29
    15
    11
    4
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Samsi Wilmslow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Slightly quirky yakitori restaurant in the middle of Wilmslow. Good menu and food ( we ordered too much!). The ambiance is pretty basic and the service organisation could do with some improvement, but a fun evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horrific service, and poor customer appreciation.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

I've been here twice, both times I've had to wait for an hour and a half after placing my order, the staff could never estimate how long it would take and when I had arrived to collect the food I was informed that they had only just got the order and it was beening prepared now, I live half an hour away so i don't go to pick it up till about 30-45 after placing the order.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Making our first visit to the Samsi in several years, we took some friends who were staying with us for the weekend for Saturday evening dinner. We had very fond memories of the place from previous visisyt and were looking forward to enjoying it once more.

I'll start with the positives:

The food was lovely, and pretty good value. I am no expert in Japanese food so I don't know how authentic or accurate the dishes are but everything that was put in front of us was very nice and some of it was properly delicious. We, rather tamely, chose a banquet meal (with one or two additions) and there was far too much food to get through - we ended up taking a lot of it home with us!

The staff - friendly and helpful. We were greeted and seated by a very smiley and friendly lady and the waitress who later served our food was charming and very eager to make sure we were looked after.

The price - we ended up witha bill of about £160 but that included 4 large banquets, two bottles of wine plus some extras. So it was pricey but not bad considering the amount of food we had.

And then there are the negatives....

The place is a shambles generally. We walked in to be greeted by the sight of a huge roll of blue kitchen towel slap-bang in the middle of the sushi counter. A great first impression! We were then asked by the lady who greeted us if we would like to order a drink to take whilst we waited for our table to be prepared... and then she did something more important instead so we didn't get our drinks, We were asked to take a seat at the sushi bar whilst we waited, but the high-rise chairs at the bar were all thrown in to a corner so I had to go in there and -rearrange the furniture myself to allow us all to sit down.

And then were were invited to sit at the table where we were again asked if we wanted drinks. This time the young 'front of house' lady was the one asking and when my wife asked for some sparkling wine, the lady told us quite breezily, that she had no idea which wines were which and asked us if we could help her! She didn't seem bright enough to suggest we could choose from the wine list...

And it didn't stop there, we were given (eventually) a bottle of prosecco which was just placed on the table. When I asked for an ice bucket a plastioc container was produced with no ice in it. The ice eventually arrived,

We also ordered a bottle of white wine to go with the meal and had to ask 3 or 4 times for an ice bucket for that.

And the rate at which our table was cleared (or rather wasn't cleared) of used dishes etc. was ridiculous. We could hardly move or eat for dirty dishes piling up.

Fortunately by that stage the hostess seemed to be spending most of her time outside on her mobile so were didn't have to do her job for her anymore. But sadly for her colleagues, that meant that the waitress who was assigend to deliver the food to our table was rushed off her feet to a ridiculous degree. Which is perhaps why our table wasn't cleared often enough. The poor woman seemed to be doing the work of about 3 people whilst at least two other members of staff were doing next to nothing.

It's a real shame, because this is a nice little restaurant with some great food. It is a real pity though that they are employing someone who clearly has no idea or interest in the place or its services and offerings, and that it is just not given that little bit of extra attention (kitchen roll! bar stools!) and that some of the staff clearly have far too much to do whilst others have too little.

A mentioned earlier that the price for the food was reasonable, and yes it was, but I also expect the standard of service and appearance to be a heck of a lot higher for that kind of money as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent foood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We decided to have the banquet as it was great value and gave a really great selection of good food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samsi Yakitori also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to Samsi Yakitori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samsi Yakitori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.