We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wilmslow Lodge at the Coach and Four

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Wilmslow Lodge at the Coach and Four to your Saves list
The Wilmslow Lodge at the Coach and Four
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   69-71 Alderley Road, Wilmslow SK9 1PA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
colchester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Value Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

A great location with plenty of things to do within a few minutes walk. We had twenty rooms booked for two nights for a local wedding. The bar and restaurant have a great atmosphere with a good selection of food and drinks (although a gin & tonic was a little pricey at £4.40ish). Unfortunately on the Saturday evening two members of the party arrived at the hotel at 1.40 and 2.30 and despite trying for sometime to get someone to attend the reception (it advertised 24 hour reception) to check them in and despite using the emergency number and phone number given they were unable to contact anyone so they had to make alternative arrangements. Another problem was that some guests had charges for breakfast and meals that they hadn't had. When these problems were brought to the attention of the presumably Manager his manner was rude and unhelpful He did not apologize for these difficulties which let the venue down and took a little of the pleasure away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    61
    21
    14
    5
See reviews for
28
47
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

we wanted to stay at the lodge as a couple of years ago we called in for lunch and it was so good we have never forgotten it. We just wanted a couple of days away and thought this might fit the bill,the staff really went out of there way to ensure we enjoyed our stay BUT although the rooms were fine and the beds huge we had a view of a wooden fence,be it all that we never spent alot of time in the room,we ate at the pub both nights food was ok but a bit limted and to be honest not a lot of choice in the town its self pizza pizza and more pizza. if your not on a budget try the steak house at the very top of the town hidden by trees has a wonderful beer garden and beautiful resturant although quite expensive.

Room Tip: ask for a view when you book and an upstairs room less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Stayed one night to attend a party. Booking easy. Check in simple. Breakfast extra, but very good value. I made a mistake thinking breakfast until 11 on a Sunday. But no problem even though we didn't arrive quite on time.

Ate in the pub Saturday lunch time. Good food and good value.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We were pleasantly surprised at the good quality of the room - lovely king size bed, although the pillows were a bit uncomfortable. It would also have been nice to have a bar of soap in the bathroom as well as the liquid soap dispensers. Had a lovely view of squirrels and bird life from the bedroom which was at the rear of the hotel.

Went for breakfast to the Coach and Four next door. This is a charming pub with rustic features and a relaxed atmosphere. However, the breakfast arrangements were a bit disappointing as there was nothing on the tables to explain the procedure. We ordered our breakfast from a very polite waitress and when It arrived I asked for some toast and tea. I was advised that we had to make it ourselves. Well, the toaster took ages and there was no hot water for the teapots. By the time we had made our toast and tea, collected our cups and milk etc. our breakfast had gone cold. and the poached eggs were rock hard.

However, now we 'know the ropes' we would definitely come back and stay because this hotel offers great value and overall we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

We've stayed here several times and have had a good experience each time. On our last trip we paid just £70 for two nights plus breakfast (a perfectly cooked full English with the usual fruit salad, yoghurts, croissants, etc - very good value). The rooms are nicely styled, not too corporate, quite homely in fact and immaculately clean, comfortable and well-equipped. The staff are friendly and very helpful and are happy to check you in early if the room is ready. We will continue to use this hotel whenever we're in the area and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

Very friendly and helpful staff at the lodgeand in the pub at night but the rooms are jaded and need freshening up - our bathroom desperately needed regrouting - mouldy - we spoke to another couple and their bathroom was worse!
Breakfast is a rip off - expensive for nothing much - my husband was served a broken egg with undercooked bacon - we waited ages for our food - a good 10 - 15 minutes wait - and whilst we had ordered everything in our cooked breakfast we were short on the beans - we queried this on eventual arrival of breakfast and were told very casually that chef has dropped them. It would have been nice to know before we ordered or whilst we were waiting! We recommend guests go to the excellent coffee shops of Wimlsow and Alderley Edge for breakfast. One guest was overcharged and the waiter who was very off hand to us all, was rude to her when she queried this - he loudyt tutted at her!! - several guests noted this! One wanted to call for the manager but the feeling was just don't recommend or come back!
All breakfast guests had to keep asking for things - coffee mugs, milk, juice, more glasses, coffee, butter ...oh and if you don't like butter you've had it - there's no flora or anything else other than butter on the premises! For £7.99 it's very very poor. £2.99 would be a more honest price - the portions are small, very poor quality and there's no attention to detail.
You could hear the kitchen staff laughing and chatting loudly at breakfast - rather rough atmosphere at breakfast sadly. All guests were mumbling about it but no one from the organisation was interested or bothered! The cleaner was mopping and dusting round some guests while they were having their £7.99 rip off breakfast!!
Had intended to book for a wedding near here next February but after 2 expensive and nothing special nights we're trying a private b & b nearby - better value and clean!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010 via mobile

Having to travel up and down the country with work the wilmslow lodge is in the middle of England it's perfect for me, the rooms are very clean, facilities are good & if your hungry they have a pub next door called the coach and four which on a Wednesday does the best pies 10/10

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wilmslow Lodge at the Coach and Four? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilmslow Lodge at the Coach and Four

Address: 69-71 Alderley Road, Wilmslow SK9 1PA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Wilmslow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wilmslow Lodge at the Coach and Four 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Wilmslow Lodge at the Coach and Four reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilmslow Lodge At The Coach And 4
The Wilmslow Lodge At The Coach And Four Hotel Wilmslow
The Wilmslow Hotel
The Hotel Wilmslow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wilmslow Lodge at the Coach and Four, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.