We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bloody fantastic!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lantern Chinese Take Away

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Red Lantern Chinese Take Away
Hawthorn Lane, Wilmslow, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 83 Restaurants in Wilmslow
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bloody fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I have only recently been introduced (about 6 months ago) to Red Lantern and have to say it is wonderful and since then ordered on numerous occasions. The food is fresh and extremely tasteful. It has always been delivered within the time specified and tonight when a mistake was made with the order, a quick phone call to the polite and helpful staff, and it was rectified within minutes. The only thing that I am disappointed about is that I was not aware of this little gem in Wilmslow before. Best takeaway by far in Wilmslow and surrounding areas. I could recommend so many dishes but would love to highlight the steak rolls in pepper sauce..bloody gorgeous !!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“A successful recommendation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We had this Chinese takeaway recommended to us and the food was some of the best Chinese takeaway we have ever had. Will definitely be trying here again

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“sad to write this review”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Im sad to write this review as this has been our favourite Chinese takeaway for the last 3 years. However ordered our take away tonight for our Saturday night treat and it took 2 hours to arrive. To be fair when ordering at 7.30 we were told they were busy and it would be 45 minutes. But when your 7 year old child is looking out of the window for her dinner to arrive at 9pm its not on. When it did finally arrive at 9.30 there was no apology,, no discount and no completely items. Personal I think this is really bad as we order form the red lantern at least 2 to 3 time a month and the cost of tonights meal was just under 40 pounds. The meal was as per usual very nice unfortunately it will be our last supper at the red lantern as 2 hrs is just to long to wait for your Saturday dinner when you have small children!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best Chinese in a while”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Just had the best Chinese delivered to our hotel room at the premier inn. This Chinese takeaway beats our local regular one by far. Delivered hot and fresh. Would travel here again just to have the Chinese from here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb takeaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The best Chinese takeaway food around. Generous portions, great choice and efficient delivery service. Would not go anywhere else.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Lantern Chinese Take Away also viewed

Wilmslow, Cheshire
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 

Been to Red Lantern Chinese Take Away? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lantern Chinese Take Away, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.