We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Pub Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bulls Head

Bulls Head
30 Wilmslow Road, Wilmslow SK9 3EW, England
01625 535544
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 79 Restaurants in Wilmslow
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Tasty Pub Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I visited on a Friday night with my boyfriend. We booked a table but as it turned out this wasn't necessary as it was very quiet. The starters and mains came quickly and the service was efficient. The food was well cooked, tasty and the portions were generous. The atmosphere was nice and relaxed and I would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    36
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I went in on a Friday night for dinner with a large group of friends. We were pleased with the menu choices and the service received. I had the beef slow cooked rib which was delicious and a very large portion! Everyone enjoyed the food, there was one complaint that the sea bass special portion wasn't big enough as it was very small but other than that a great meal. The atmosphere is nice, the restaurant has lots of sections so if you want a quiet meal for two you can feel quite private and if you want a less secluded setting you can sit nearer the bar.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service leaves alot to be desired”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Called into the Bulls Head for tea. Once we'd decided what we wanted, I went to the bar to order.
Sadly it seems I forgot I was wearing my cloak of invisibility, as the two staff behind the bar managed to blank me totally. They also managed to go and clear glasses and discuss pubs in Didsbury rather than serve me.
Thankfully, after 10-15 minutes, a third member of staff then appeared. Even while I was complaining about the woman who was ignoring me (who was stood right infront of me at this point) she still managed to not look at me.
Its a shame that this pretty much ruined the visit. The food is decent, its not overly priced and once you have managed to order, the food comes quickly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“2nd choice but better than 1st choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We went out with the intention of eating at another local pub/restaurant, having looked at the menu of the other place we decided to leave as there did not appear to be much choice! We decided to visit the Bulls head as it has been many years since our last visit. What a good choice we made, very friendly staff, good choice of food, nicely presented and hot! very warm welcoming restaurant and will definitely be returning. seems like the other place has just lost 2 of its regular customers due to a miserable looking menu. Well done Bulls head keep up the good work.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Just right !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stopped off on the way home and a 1st visit to this pub. The layout was clean and welcoming and the service excellent. I had a medium done steak and my wife a vegetarian meal. The quality of both meals was excellent for under ten pounds each meal off the main menue. Well Done

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bulls Head also viewed

 
Wilmslow, Cheshire
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 

Been to Bulls Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bulls Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.