We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service but NOT good value for money.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Stanneylands Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Stanneylands Hotel to your Saves list
The Stanneylands Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stanneylands Road, Wilmslow SK9 4EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good service but NOT good value for money.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed two nights. The location drove our decision to stay there. It was close to people we needed to see but without a car, you'd be very far out of the town and not near anything to do.

I cannot criticise the staff in any way, they were all pleasant, polite and friendly and not just the reception but cleaning staff too. The rooms were very clean by the way. What lets this place down are the rooms and the value. Rooms are dated and 'functional' at best. Beds were not comfortable with old mattresses and although the sheets were spotless, they weren't high quality fabric. Bathrooms look like a place to hang yourself. Heating was strange and it got very hot in there.

I see how this place would be a good choice for a wedding though as downstairs was quite pretty and the grounds were nice. I'd give this hotel a 3 star rating except for the price which I felt was exorbitant for what you got. The breakfast is 14 pounds per person by the way. Ouch. We avoided it as over two nights this would really have added to our bill. I went in one morning to take a look at what you got for your money. The 'continental' bit had been laid out on a table and was a very pathetic offering. I'm very glad we just waited until we'd go out. There weren't any other options within walking distance so know that if you are booking. This is probably why they can get away with it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    91
    48
    29
    14
See reviews for
58
154
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheadle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

From our initial enquiry through to our last dance, The Stanneylands has been the perfect venue. Liz and Eamonn were outstanding - their attention to detail, calm approach and ability to make you feel special is amazing. Our guests had a memorable day/evening and we've received so many glowing comments about the venue, attentive service, great food and intimate surroundings. Thank you to all the very friendly staff who worked incredibly hard to make sure our special day went without any hitches, and have given us a day to remember for the rest of our lives. We'll definitely be heading back to celebrate our first anniversary, and have no hesitation in strongly recommending The Stanneylands to anyone looking for the ideal venue. A special mention also for florist Helen Claire who arranged our flowers and decorated the room/tables - her advice and suggestions on bouquets, button holes and decor was exceptional - thank you xxx

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Saturday 3rd Dec we had our daughters wedding at Stanneylands Hotel, it was fantastic. Bride and Groom had an amazing day.
We just don't have the words of thanks and huge appreciation to express how grateful we are to Eamonn for making the day run so effortlessly.
He removed all the stress from us in such a caring and gentle way.
He is so much fun, oozes joy and confidence and as regards making the day work He is priceless.
Nothing was too much trouble and my daughter felt like a princess with all the care and attention she received from all the staff at Stanneylands who set a new standard for friendly and efficient service.
A huge THANK YOU to them all.
We would highly recommend Liz and the team to anyone looking for the perfect wedding day.
What stars they are.

Room Tip: room 402 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011 via mobile

Old and dated. The bathroom was quite nice however the bedroom was small with a terrible old fashioned non wide screen tv. Due to location there is not much to do other than stay in your room so a good tv would be nice. The temperature in the room us far too hot and no ability to change it. Two of my lamps didn't work either. I would recommend premier inn as a regular business traveller they are so much better.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahRichmond, General Manager at The Stanneylands Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback in relation to your stay with us at Stanneylands. We continue to make improvements to our bedrooms including the replacement of the older style of television. We have received positive comments about the room from which you moved, however we appreciate that the room did not meet your expectations and this was the reason we upgraded you to a suite. We have a variety of rooms available at Stanneylands and whilst we appreciate that some of our rooms are older in style and facilities we have a large selection of more modern executive rooms. We are saddened to here you would chose to stay at a Premier Inn over ourselves and hope that you will re-consider and give Stanneylands the opportunity to accommodate you on your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We had our wedding there yesterday and it was a great day. Eamonn was with us every step of the way and really put us at ease so we didn't have to worry about a thing. Liz, the wedding coordinator is really nice and between them they arranged the perfect day. In fact they even booked the sunshine!

The food was excellent and all the staff were very freindly. Just before the service my jacket button popped off and the lady behind reception kindly sewed it back on again which I thought was really nice.

Highly recommended!

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahRichmond, General Manager at The Stanneylands Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review of The Stanneylands Hotel

We do strive to deliver the very best in comfort and hospitality and there is no greater reward for our team then the positive feedback from those that enjoy their stay with us.

I look forwar to welcoming you back to the Stanneylands in the not so distant future.

Regards

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed here on a Friday night and had a brilliant deal with D,B & B plus a free bottle of wine in an executive room costing just under £120. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, though a little dated (but the en suite bathroom was very modern). There were a couple of minor issues getting the TV and heater working but they were resolved by reception.
The restaurant has a nice atmosphere and the food was generally good and well presented, though on our deal the choices would not have been to everyone's taste. Service was discrete but friendly and efficient.
The building is attractive and set in lovely gardens and I would imagine that it would be a really lovely venue for a family wedding where I think guests of all generations would feel very well looked after and comfortable.
There are some nice areas to sit and relax, but It would have been nice to have some newspapers and magazines around to brouse and I would also have liked to see the lovely open fire burning though the hotel was generally very warm.

Room Tip: It was definitely well worth paying the extra £20 on this deal to get an executive room and free win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011 via mobile

Great service at check-in and the receptionist kindly offered to move me to a better room. I would hate to think what the original allocated room looked like! My 'better room' was in need of a really good clean, dirty carpets, scorched walls, nails hanging out of walls, peeling paper on ceilings which look victim to water leaks and sticky bedside table. Bathroom was modern however and had been updated relatively recently. Value for money is poor and will book premier inn next time.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahRichmond, General Manager at The Stanneylands Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Thank you for your feedback it is good to hear you recieved great service as this is something we pride ourselves on at The Stanneylands Hotel. How ever it is disappointing to hear of your dissatisfaction with your bedroom. We are aware that some of our bedrooms need upgrading and we have rolling refurbishment program in place. We are only sorry that you did not bring this to our attention during your stay to allow us the opportunity to rectify the matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stanneylands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stanneylands Hotel

Address: Stanneylands Road, Wilmslow SK9 4EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Wilmslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stanneylands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Stanneylands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanneylands Hotel Wilmslow

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stanneylands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.