We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most overrated Restaraunt ever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Stolen Lamb

Stolen Lamb
70a Grove Street, Wilmslow, England
01625 419571
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 74 restaurants in Wilmslow
Price range: $23 - $38
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The signature dish of Cyprus - Kleftiko literally means "stolen lamb”. The story goes that the "Greek Kleftes," Bandits who hid in the mountains, would sometimes steal a lamb for food. They cooked it sealed tightly on a buried pit of coals to keep a low profile, and not give away their hideout by sight and smell.My paternal Grandfather 'George' was known for his Lamb and Goat rearing in Famagusta, Cyprus. His Farm produced milk to make the famous Cypriot cheese Halloumi and his lambs were a treat to eat. The Restaurant will continue to use the finest local produce specializing in Cheshire Lamb.My maternal Grandfather, also called George, was famous for cooking the signature dish, in both his village of Kyrenia Cyprus where he was taught, and continues now in Manchester. We will be using the same recipe to cook the dish here at the restaurant. (We are lucky as his recipes are unique and he keeps them close to his heart).The restaurant embraces old Family recipes combined with new style to offer the ultimate Greek Dining Experience. Our cooking methods include, using a traditional wood-fired clay oven and a coal fired BBQ to give the full flavour to our food.Chef George & the team
Manchester
1 review
“Most overrated Restaraunt ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 NEW via mobile

Overpriced, nothing Greek about it!! Basically had a mixed grill that i could have had down the local pub for a third of the price. Also, portion size is tiny. All in all for £70 for the pair, we left hungry and disappointed!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    146
    34
    17
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is one not to be missed. Having recently been invited to a corporate golf day in nearby Alderley Edge, my brother and I travelled down from Scotland on Wednesday night to be fresh for an early tee off on Thursday.
This was our second meal at Stolen Lamb and the memory of our first visit had stayed with us for an entire year (the golf excursion is an annual event).
Knowing that we would be arriving quite late, 21:30 or so, we called ahead to ensure that this wouldn't be a problem and fortunately for us the restaurant were happy to take our booking.

Greeted by the friendliest young waiters and waitress, we were shown to our table where we each had a beer to kick off.
We went straight for the recommended sharing platter for two to start...see attached photo, it was stunning.
My brother then went for fish and so opted for a bottle of Sancere.
I chose the rabbit and wild boar on a bed of couscous and so I opted for a bottle of Pinotage.

During the meal, the chef / proprietor George came to our table to ensure we were happy with our meals...we were. He even went into exact detail as to how we could make his fantastic souvlaki marinade which we'd both had on our previous trip.

We had a wonderful night and can't thank George and his team enough for their hospitality.
Fabulous food, atmosphere and great value for money!

An easy 11 out of 10 for me...can't wait until next year (although I expect by then, we won't be able to get a table)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“When it's too wet for a BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

When it was too wet to have our company BBQ recently we contacting George at The Stolen Lamb in Wilmslow took over and did a wonderful job

His wonderful choice of food incorporating delicious Greek food displayed his family's history in the restaurant business

We had a wonderful evening enhanced only by the Bollinger we were able to take along and celebrate another good year

Thanks

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Have been a few times now and it has never disappointed. It takes the typical perception of Greek food to another level - there are the usual favourites of course but there is a wide range of very creative and delicious options that would not look out of place in a fine dining restaurant. We had an 18th birthday in the private dining room and had a whole lamb - was a great success and we had free access to the room to decorate and could bring our own music if we wanted to - the food was exceptional and lots of it! Try the Greek wines as well they are unusually good. Going back tonight!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“inventive plates well executed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Beautiful food love the 'egg and bacon' deconstructed. We were there for a birthday celebration of around 12 people. Service was great and the plates just kept coming. The house wine is decent and good value. We cannot wait to go back as a couple.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stolen Lamb also viewed

 

Been to Stolen Lamb? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stolen Lamb, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.