We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor rooms, liftless, unfriendly staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Airport Inn Manchester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Airport Inn Manchester to your Saves list
The Airport Inn Manchester
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Altrincham Road, Wilmslow SK9 4LR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Manchester Airport)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Poor rooms, liftless, unfriendly staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We chose this hotel for the overnight stay plus 15 day parking deal which seemed reasonable. The Holiday Inn Manchester Airport (Wilmslow) is however one of the worst hotels I have stayed in. The lift is still not working (as reported by someone else in July) so moving luggage up and down two flights of stairs is not ideal. The hotel did offer to help us with our luggage but I could not bear to watch a lady move our suitcases up the stairs.

The room itself was poor. There was a ripped curtain and stains on the floor. No flat screen television. Noise travels easily in the hotel rooms and you can hear people on either side of the room. On a more positive note, the shower was excellent.

The bar was average, food was poor. Staff seemed to be unhappy and this made them unfriendly (no smiles, nice greeting etc.)

I stay in hotels every week as I also travel for business. I am continually amazed how the Intercontinental Hotels (Holiday Inn, Crowne Plaza etc.) vary in quality and service. Unfortunately the Holiday Inn Manchester Airport (Wilmslow) is one to avoid.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRothwell, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you for your comment. I can only apologise for our lift we are still awaiting delivery of a specialist part. Reception do offer to assist with luggage to guest bedrooms whilst we resolve our lift issue. I cannot comment about other IHG properties or the varying standards to your observations. We do all receive the same customer service training through our STAY REAL programme and we monitor our own individual performance through our Heartbeat scores. Kind regards, John Rothwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    214
    197
    153
    174
See reviews for
162
318
55
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stayed here for a wedding. The rooms were fine, spacious and clean. Some of the public areas let it down a little, some of the tables in the bar were really dusty so attention to detail was needed, carpet in reception needed a good clean etc. The wedding was managed really well but the main gripe was the price of drinks.. I paid over £10 for 2 small wines. And another round of 2 gins and tonics, A vodka and lemonade and a diet coke was £23. It is disgusting prices for a holiday inn. Breakfast was great, plenty to choose from and good quality food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRothwell, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry you found our bar prices maybe higher than you expected however we regularly review these with our competition and are priced very competitively with the other airport hotels. Kind regards, John Rothwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed here the night before a early morning flight and had the car parking included, Overall we were very happy with our stay.
The lift was out of order and it would have been nice if we had been told we could leave our cases in a room near reception rather than carrying them up to our room, however we should have asked! The staff were lovely and the process of checking in/out was very smooth. The room was fine and clean and the shower was fab. We did use the bar for a few drinks and they were slightly more expessive then a pub but you would expect that. I think the food should be a little cheaper £12.49 for a burger! the magic £9.99 and more people would buy but they know their market better than me. The transfer to/from Airport very well organised overall I was very impressed and would be happy to return

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRothwell, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you for your post, I was please to read you enjoyed your stay, I look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Kind regards, John Rothwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is the second time we stayed at this hotel first time room was bigger and bathroom too , this time very small, the overall cleanliness was ok some cleaners dont know how to clean the overflow in a sink, I think they should tell you that the hairdryers are'nt very good , they have a cutout when they get hot , funny really as they are mean't to !!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRothwell, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment. We do have larger rooms available at the hotel or you could upgrade to an Executive room for an additional £20. Unfortunately yes many hotels supply hairdryers which have a safety cut off for obvious reasons.
Kind regards, John Rothwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Arrived with a party of over 40 en route to an international congress in Wales to find the lift did not work and four rooms booked had not in fact been reserved.
Returned a week later with the same party of delegates flying home to 10 nations from Manchester Airport the following day to find the lift still was not working and another five rooms confirmed as booked had dropped off the list in this most basic of hotels.
Staff in restaurant very pleasant.

Room Tip: room tiny, glad my double was only for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRothwell, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Thank you for your comments, I was disappointed to read your comments about the reservations issue, however after speaking to the team we had actually reserved the list that had been confirmed by Mr. Flemming the tour organiser, there were additional rooms that Mr Flemming had omitted however we did manage to accommodate them. Unfortunately yes the lift was out of commission for the duration. We are currently waiting a specialist part which needs importing, however we did have additional staff on duty to assist with any luggage should anyone request.

Kind regards, John Rothwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here on the night before an early morning flight to Majorca. It enabled us to check in at the airport the night before travel and to park the car while we were on holiday. All ran very smoothly and we have booked again to do the same in September.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed one night before flying to Mexico, on arrival the receptionist was very efficient, the hotel was clean and looked nice - our room was on the 2nd floor, it was clean but very small, the bed didn't seem to be a full sized double and was almost against the wall on one side, we hardly got any sleep due to constant alarm clocks going off in other rooms and we could hear the sliding bathroom doors in other rooms! The hotel is a nice hotel but rooms are too small and the Walls are too thin!! This was our second stay at this hotel, we prob won't stay a 3rd time!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRothwell, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, July 29, 2011
Thank you for your post, please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Kind Regards, John Rothwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Airport Inn Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Airport Inn Manchester

Address: Altrincham Road, Wilmslow SK9 4LR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Manchester Airport)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Wilmslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Airport Inn Manchester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Airport Inn Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester Airport Hotel Wilmslow
Manchester Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Wilmslow
Wilmslow Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Airport Inn Manchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.