We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty much got everything wrong” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Miller & Carter

Miller & Carter
Station Road | Wilmslow, Wilmslow SK91BU, England
1625540313
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 79 Restaurants in Wilmslow
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Miller & Carter Wilmslow offers expertly cooked premium steaks & grills in a fantastic setting. Whether it's an informal midweek treat, a business lunch, a weekend outing or a family celebration let us introduce you to the best Steakhouse, Bar & Grill in town.You'll find us just off the A34 near to Wilmslow railway station. Just 3 miles away you will find the wonderful views and walks at Alderley Edge.Our Steakhouse, Bar & Grill is famous across Cheshire, attracting people looking for bars and restaurants in Bramhall, Knutsford and Heald Green.We know that the secret of running a classic Steakhouse is to keep it simple. So at Miller & Carter Wilmslow you'll find our Food Menu is packed with expertly cooked grills, our bar has a great Drinks Menu and our friendly staff bring you the whole steakhouse experience in a luxuriously stylish but understated location.Miller & Carter Wilmslow... Experts in Steak
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pretty much got everything wrong”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

They got our drink order wrong, food order wrong, were slow and seemed untrained. My burger was burnt but couldnt be bothered to wait to get it re-done and my wifes steak was average. They even got the bill wrong but had given up by then.

I dont mind going here for a beer but extremely poor restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    36
    23
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food is just fabulous and good value .The steaks are to Die for and comes with salads and onion wedge ,Yummy Great Menu as well and the staff are just soooooooooo NICE

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic meal, steak to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Fantastic family meal here in this beautiful restaurant. Food absolutely delicious - best steak I've ever had, cooked exactly as ordered served with great chips and the salad and onion loaf with it were lovely. Really nice creme brulee for afters - only wish it had been a bit bigger.

Kids made very welcome and loved the kids menu. V tasty garlic bread for starters, great burgers and chips and lovely choc icecream. Portion sizes were good - have a 10 yr old boy with a healthy appetite and he was full after 2 courses.

Kids were fascinated by the rabbits in the car park and the gardens were lovely.

Service friendly and attentive.

Would definitely return again for a special occasion. Not cheap but food quality excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Don't bother”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Steaks overdone, slow service, staff seem more interested in talking to each other. We ordered a second cocktail and the waiter said "I've run out of ingredients so I've added pineapple instead of vanilla"???? Poor value for money. Restaurant was so quiet on a Friday evening at 8pm. Says it all really. If you want a decent steak with excellent service try Gaucho!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Not good at all, especially for the price”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My friends and I decided to eat at the Miller & Carter on a sunny evening. We were greeted very warmly and advised about the running order if we decided to sit outside, which we did.

We chose a table outside in the sun however it did have the plates/glasses/cutlery of the previous patrons. We moved them over to one side of the table where they sat for 35 minutes before the waiter who had passed our table several times came over to remove them.

We ordered starters and main courses, grilled mushrooms, calamari and croquettes. The starters were very nice and arrived quickly.

Our main courses were a complete disaster. My friend ordered the pumpkin ravioli. When it came out it looked like it had been grilled or kept under the grill to keep warm. The pasta had completely dried out and the surface of the pasta had actually bubbled. My friend tried a bit but it was too dry and not what she had ordered. She tried to send it back but we were told it was already paid for so she couldn't have a refund. When we advised that it looked awful and dried up the waiter went back to the kitchen and when he came back advised that the chef had stressed that is how it was supposed to be served. Never in my life have I seen blistered pasta as a serving suggestion and the chef should probably be a little ashamed if that's how he prides a dish. In the end, my friend just sent it back without a refund due.
I ordered salmon which was bone dry, completely overcooked and really tough to chew. I had to smear it in mayonnaise in order to eat it. Another friend ordered the beef wellington which should have come out medium. The beef was again completely overcooked and for nearly £20 for the dish, you expect a lot better.

What was most disappointing was the point blank refusal to accept any responsibility for just sending out poor food. At these prices, you should get a decent plate of food, cooked well and to order.

Would strongly recommend against anybody taking a meal here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller & Carter also viewed

Wilmslow, Cheshire
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 

Been to Miller & Carter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miller & Carter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.