We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to eat.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Honey bee

Honey bee
Altrincham Road | Styal, Wilmslow, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 79 Restaurants in Wilmslow
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: sk9 4lt
manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely place to eat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our friends we staying at the Crowne Plaza Hotel at Manchester Airport as the were flying out the next day. We wanted to have a meal together before they left so I googled restaurants nearby and The Honey Bee was one of the places that came up. I read the reviews on Tripadvisor before I booked and the majority of the reviews were positive so I went ahead and booked. We ate there last night and it was a very enjoyable meal. The Honey Bee is huge with lots of small individual areas to eat so it was lovely and cosy. We all enjoyed our meals very much, two had the belly pork, one had the scallop and chorizo risotto and I had something that wasn't actually on the menu which was venison suet pudding. I had ordered something from the specials board but unfortunately it had been sold out. The man taking our order was very pleasant and suggested trying the venison suet pudding which wasn't actually on the menu, I don't know why it wasn't but decided to take him up on his recommendation and I was certainly not disappointed. Overall it was a very pleasant evening and the staff are lovely. My only gripe and this is very small is that the drinks were a little expensive. I'd signed up for their newsletter after reading on tripadvisor that you can download a voucher for 25% off your meal. Unfortunately I hadn't read the small-print as it was for Mon-Fri only but I will keep hold of it as we will definatly be returning. I recommend it very much :-)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    84
    26
    23
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fine Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We've eaten at this restaurant on a number of occasions so it was an easy choice to have our Christmas Day meal here. Very pleasantly surprised to see new decor and modernisation sympathetic to the building. The staff were very welcoming and attentive, having a couple of our party who have walking difficulties, I'd asked when we booked that we would be seated somewhere with easy access to the disabled toilets facilities, we were, we have plenty of room to manoeuvre. The meal was served promptly, and the main course was hot when it arrived. Overall highly recommended.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food xxx”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The restaurant just not far from we live. Just like to try some English food. Food was delicious, staff were very friendly. Restaurant very nice and clean looking very welcome.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best Sunday Roast Dinner Out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Our family recently discovered this restaurant. We have passed it regularly and it has always looked very inviting on the exterior. We took the occasion to stop in for dinner on the way to Manchester airport on Sunday, in the early evening. The roast dinners were beautifully prepared. The choice of sauces which were brought to our table by our attentive server were a nice touch. Everything was absolutely delicious and we each enjoyed our meals very much. Next time, we need to make time for a dessert.They sound scrumptious! We promised to return and return often. The quality of the food, atmosphere and service made this meal a memorable experience. Highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“WRONG ANIMAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The scran was sik but the creature on the sign was a hoverfly not a bee as it has only two wings!!!!!!! Urghhhhhh!!!!!!! Good otherwise though!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honey bee also viewed

Wilmslow, Cheshire
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 
Altrincham, Cheshire
Knutsford, Cheshire
 

Been to Honey bee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honey bee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.