We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
26 Alderley Road, Wilmslow SK9 1PL, England
01625 540 055
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 74 restaurants in Wilmslow
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Bright and modern, PizzaExpress Wilmslow offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
Leyland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Birthday visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Excellent food, fantastic service, would highly recommend for any celebration. we were celebrating my granddaughters birthday and have been here many times in past and will continue for any future parties.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    16
    31
    14
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meltham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very noisy, slow service but good food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I suppose that going early on Friday evening was not going to be a peaceful meal but the noise was excessive. Service was very slow, although there seemed to be lots of staff running around which added to the noise and the chaos. Food and value were good. Probably the wrong restaurant at the wrong time for us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A special thanks to Ryan Lennon”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The whole experience of Pizza Express was rather bad, but the one saving grace was my waiter Ryan Lennon - what a warrior he was.

During my meal my starters were wrong - Ryan sorted this for us.
My main course contained Ham and as I am Jewish I really did take offensive to this. - Yet again Ryan sorted this.
My dessert was very good - and on the house from Ryan as he apologised for the bad meal and service.

The manager was very rude when a complaint was made, I wont be returning but I would like to personally thank Ryan for his dedication to making my meal a success.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great service and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Got to say been here before and this time round the service was impeccable and the good very moreish! The waiter who served us was jolly and made us feel welcome! Unfortunately I didn't catch his name but would definitely recommend this restaurant to any of my friends!
Thanks once again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pizza yes, express no”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is similar to other Pizza Express restaurants, a large single room with visible kitchen.
Also usually families eating here.
Pizzas always good.
The shame is the service- slow, you are served by a different waiter or waitress throughout, having to peer over to catch their attention etc.
I will eat again for sure at Pizza Express, but hopefully not the Wilmslow one unless they sort out their service

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

Wilmslow, Cheshire
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.