We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cranbrook Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Cranbrook Hotel to your Saves list
Cranbrook Hotel
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   22-24 Coventry Road, Ilford IG1 4QR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
west midlands
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

If your looking for the ritz carry on looking. If your looking for a clean budget hotel this is the place. The rooms are clean and decent standard breakfast is ok best of all is the price, for London the price is really good and just 20 mins from central London

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Cranbrook Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear James

Many thanks for your stay at the Cranbrook Hotel. Our aim is to be in the mid market for hotel rooms and price and we proud ourselves to offer value for money.

We will be delighted to welcome you and your family back at the Cranbrook Hotel.

Regards
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    27
    30
    12
    33
See reviews for
37
21
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We booked the Cranbrook Hotel at a reasonable price when my family came down for a wedding in Ilford. We are very grateful to the staff of the hotel who were nice and always available and ready to help in all circumstances.
We stayed in a very big en-suite room with king size beds with tea and coffee facilities inside. The whole lot was very clean and well maintained.
We would recommend the Hotel to anyone coming around for its proximity to the Station and overall facilities.

Room Tip: nice family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Cranbrook Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Payana

It is always a pleasure to note that you have had a good time at the Cranbrook Hotel and we will not only say thank you to you but we will even put more efforts to make your stay even better next time you come down to our Hotel.

On behalf of all the staff an management we say a big thank you to you.

Best regards

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Despite some poor reviews our one night stay was good value for money, room was clean, bed was comfy and breakfast was provided and included. Good to see turkey rashers on the menu as a healthy option! It's the new spam!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Cranbrook Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Rossaman

When our Guests are happy we are happy at the Cranbrook hotel to give the best service, the best rooms and the best price.

Thank you for your stay and we look forward to welcome you again.

Regards

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

When I arrived there was a party going on in the upper front room with people hanging out of the window. I asked for a quiet room to sleep as I had a long day and was taken to a room at the rear ground floor, which appeared clean. The room next door had loud music playing which I phoned (mobile) reception to get turned down. 10 minutes later a female was talking on her phone outside my room in the courtyard. I again phoned and asked for the noise to be sorted then another guest started playing music. After approximately 90 minutes of arriving I packed my bag and damanded my money back which I wass told could not be done without the manager present. On phoning him reception got it sorted but all the manager appeared to be interested in was if they could clean the room to re let it! There are other cheap hotels in the area, slightly more money but also better!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Cranbrook Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest

At the Cranbrook Hotel our aim is to offer to our Guest the best possible accommodation at the best price in a conducive environment. It may happen that some Guests may be more noisy than others but our staff are trained to handle these situation and get things back to normal.

We regret to note that your experience at the hotel was not a good one and we do apologise for that. We do not have any record of your complaint and we could have easily changed your rooms into back rooms if you had made a request. In any event we apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Regards

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

had lovely time with my friends close to town and shops.breakfast very nice.only thing is no tea just coffee.and no hairdryer.room clean.we had family room witch was nice .we did have the side hotel .would stay again and it only cost 69 pounds for 4 of us.with breakfast.

Room Tip: it side room dont hear any thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We were visiting London for the Paralympic games and chose Cranbrook hotel for its good value, free carpark and it being only a 15 minute train journey from the Olympic Park. We were quite surprised when we saw the hotel because it looks quite different to the pictures but it looked clean and in good order which is the main thing. We arrived 30 minutes before check in just on the off chance. Unfortunately our rooms were not ready yet but the people on reception were extremely helpful and offered to send someone straight over to clean the rooms, however, as we were planning on going straight to London centre we decided to check in when we returned later that night. The area in which the hotel resides is not the nicest in London but not the worst either. The train station was only a 10 minute walk and there were plenty of grocers which were open late. When we got back and checked in at about 11pm we were allocated rooms in completely separate buildings which we found slightly odd as we had booked our rooms more than 6 months earlier. My husband and I offered to go in the room in a different building. We had to go outside, walk up the side of the hotel and through a gate with barbed wire on it at the back which took us down an alley which had chalet style rooms along it. We felt a little concerned about this set up but that was probably heightened by how late it was at night. When we got to the room we were pleasantly surprised as it was light and modern with a big tv and a nice ensuite. We initially thought we picked the short straw but actually our room was nicer than the one in the main hotel. The rest of our party's rooms in the main part of the hotel were older and had an odd smell about them. There was, however, no hairdryer in the rooms (that we could find) but we didn't ask as it was so late at night and I didn't fancy walking outside to reception in my PJ's! We all slept ok - it wasn't the best nights sleep because the beds were not main properly and there was not a proper cover on the duvet but it wasn't a major issue. The next morning breakfast was good and there was a good selection with hot items which could be ordered and cold items you could help yourself to. The selection wasn't the most varied and some of the hot items were slightly unusual but there was enough to satisfy most people.

All in all I think this hotel is pretty good for its location and value for money. I would stop again but probably not for more than one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cranbrook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranbrook Hotel

Address: 22-24 Coventry Road, Ilford IG1 4QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Ilford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Ilford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cranbrook Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cranbrook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranbrook Hotel Ilford, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cranbrook Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.