We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great to dine in...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wok Wala - Street Kitchen

Wok Wala - Street Kitchen
733 High Road | Seven Kings London, Ilford ig3 8rl, England
+44 20 8598 9656
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 143 Restaurants in Ilford
Price range: $2 - $16
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian fusion, Noodle Shop, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery
Description: Wok Wala - Street Kitchen. Pan Asian flavours. Fresh ingredients, Healthy, Fast, Simple foods. Sauces made from scratch! Friendly Staff! Some are calling us Halal Chinese and Indian - We call our cuisine Pan Asian Fusion - We are something a little bit different!
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not great to dine in...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Food is ok, however it can be a little confusing the way the menu is set out. Not great at all to dine in, they have these wooden benches and it is often very cold in the restaurant. Owners are nice people. I have tried the other Chinese Restaurant on the Same block, Gourmet Grill and they're Chinese food is really tasty and portions much bigger than Wok Wala's. Try it for yourself.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    5
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Concept. Great food & Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Funky little place. Great fresh food, at Mcd prices. Friendly service.
Ribs are awesome!!! tried all their flavours, personal fav is the Indonesian Sambal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely love the food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

This place is one of my favourite places to dine, they make the good fresh within minutes with a wife variety of choices. Foods really warm and the decor of the place itself is very different and I find myself coming here once a week at the least. Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Most delicious food in the Ilford/Seven Kings/Goodmayes area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Most delicious food in the Ilford/Seven Kings/Goodmayes area. Chinese food with that necessary twist of south Asian spice. Very unique flavours - needs its own cuisine!

Our family get really excited when we get delivery from here (4 or 5 times now). They provide authentic Chinese takeaway boxes for everything with chopsticks. Perfect for gatherings and sharing!

My reccomendation: Try lamb tikka in Rice (vermecilin) noodles, mangetout (beans), baby sweetcorn, red chilli slices, with a Thai green curry sauce base.

Always order Large as it's only a quid extra. And they don't bump you!

Takes a long time though. But worth the wait - wallahi.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not suitable for dine in”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

After reading numerous reviews we decided to dine at this restaurant and here are a few points:

Pros:
Noodles are good
food is freshly stir fried
food is hot and remains hot

Cons:
Not suitable for dine in though they have a few benches
The restaurant was cold, none of us removed coats/jackets
decor is less than average, didnt feel like eating out
no presentation of food as its served in packing boxes though we were dining in
since food is in boxes so it remains hot and you have to wait quite a lot for it to become ready to be eaten
Rice and kebabs were terrible in taste
soft drinks were terrible having no soda!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wok Wala - Street Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Wok Wala - Street Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wok Wala - Street Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.