We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Royale

Thai Royale
11 Woodford Avenue, Ilford IG4 5, England
020 8551 1991
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 143 Restaurants in Ilford
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

If you like thai food you will love it here. Everything is fresh and the atmosphere is great with live music played on various days in the week. It is a little ore pricey than other places but lovely if you are spoiling yourself.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great thai cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Thai being one of my favourites, I came across this as I was passing the area, and popped in. To my surprise all the food was halal, which was conveniant and the food was lovely.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Not the best Thai food you will find out there, but pricing is fair, food is good, and atmosphere is fine.

Have been coming here for years and early on when they opened the food wasn't great, all in all a greasy experience.

But a change of chefs and recipes, and improvements generally have meant their service and food quality has improved. Often use the take away service aswell which is good, particularly for their starters. Today the food is well presented, and tasty, and you can taste the freshness, which is a must with Thai food.

Prices are good, what I would call fair, occasionally slightly high on some items.

Downside is the difficult location and parking, over-aggressive air-conditioning at times if you sit at the wrong table, and the portions sizes can be small on some menu items!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“excellant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

always excellent, happy staff, food brilliant service excellent

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai Restaurant....!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012 via mobile

I have eaten here on two occasions, once with my wife and a few days ago with my friends.

The venue isn't much to look at and is located on busy Woodford Avenue. There is parking at the back of the restaurant. Inside, the restaurant is designed in a Thai style setting.

Me and my wife had a three course meal from the menu and we thought all dishes were very good. Fresh, delicious and well presented. Not very generous portions though. Staff are helpful and friendly.

The meal came upto £45.00 for both of us without any alcoholic drinks (we are Muslims). A little expensive for the local area and for what your getting.

I then went again a few days ago in a group of 5 lads on Sunday evening as they do a buffet. My friend has been going on about how excellent the buffet is for a long time. He was not wrong!

Fantastic buffet with a good range. Fresh, well presented and tasty. Choices from Thai salads, Satay, prawn curry, green curry, noodles etc and a very large choice of desserts as well. We were all stuffed and could not move in the end! Also its £15.00 per head excluding drinks which is reasonable for what is on offer.

If you live closeby or have the opportunity, give this place ago. You maybe surprised......!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Royale also viewed

 

Been to Thai Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Royale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.