We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Khayma

Al Khayma
251 Cranbrook Road, Ilford IG1 4TG, England
(020) 8554 4133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 133 restaurants in Ilford
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Moroccan, Grill
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Had a meal there last night restaurant is beautiful . I thought the food was really good would go back again and not too pricet either :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    1
    3
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awful, copy of the tent Ilford..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This was the worst restaurant I've been to! Service was crap and was an absolute copy of the Tent Ilford.. The food says meditterian but it's Indian! Lies lies more lies.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Romantic ambiance and great good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

On one of our saturday evenings out, I and my wife went to Al Khayma for dinner. The restaurant ambiance is awesome with very authentic Arabic decor. The whole place had mini tents that were very private with beaded curtains and all.

With the low diffuse light and the privacy of our tent, we felt very relaxed. The seating was not too comfy but I guess the seats had to be in tune with the rest of the decor.

The food was awesome too with great starters and a massive main course meal. I ordered the lamb dinner and got a plate full of aromatic arabic rice with huge pieces of lamb, a lamb shank and a very other bits and pieces. The lamb was tender and was falling off the bone.

The service was fast with our own bell button. At the end of the dinner, one of the managers came over and asked about our experience and requested we make any suggestions to improve the service.

The icing on the cake was the belly dance at the end of dinner. A beautiful belly dancer came into the restaurant accompanied by a guy beating a hand held drum and with Arabic music in the background it was quite fun.

My only grip is the parking (and hence the 4 stars) which is in the basement adjacent to the restaurant and you need to be a skilled driver if you don't want your car dented when you are trying to get in or out.

I would definitely recommend Al Khayma for an authentic Arabic experience and great food!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“NEVER AGAIN - OVER PRICED AND NOT ATHUNTIC”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I visited the restaurant today and am disappointed. The service was good but food was not even average. Its overpriced and not Moroccon at all. Service was good but we were there basically to have food not service Only........ so what we had was not worth-it. We all highly disappointed.

I will not even think to visit them again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful place but food was a disappointment.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We went for dinner at this beautiful Moroccon style restaurant.The decor in this place is fantastic and every attention to detail has been taken to inspire that Middle Eastern feel.The food however was disappointing,it didn't seem very Moroccon to all of us and we had to order from four set menus.They didn't have any desert in the set menu and the Kawa at the end tasted like hot mouthwash.I think this place would do even better if they had deserts and gave a choice of what tea we wanted at the end.The lady waitress was very nice and always had a warm smile.Please be aware that they add a service charge to the bill which is £3 per person.We loved the belly dance but felt disappointed by the cuisine.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Khayma also viewed

 

Been to Al Khayma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Khayma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.