We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy clientele. Not much of a car park.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge London Ilford Gants Hill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge London Ilford Gants Hill to your Saves list
Travelodge London Ilford Gants Hill
Beehive Lane, Gants Hill, Ilford IG4 5DR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saver rooms available
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ilford
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Noisy clientele. Not much of a car park.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The weekday price for this Travelodge is double what I paid for my Friday night stay, which was still not cheap by Travelodge standards. If I had paid that full price I would have been seriously grieved. I needed a good night's sleep before an early work start on the Saturday morning. Sadly the other occupants seemed to try their best to stop that. Revellers leaving and coming back from nights out and early but loud risers in the morning led to a disrupted night.
The room itself was standard refurbished fare and was cosy and clean, except, for some reason, the top edge of the bath didn't look as though it had been wiped down for years.
The car parking is a bit confusing. There is a pub car park, which is pay and display. I thought Travelodge's 15 spaces were within that, but the receptionist advised me to move to a tiny dedicated car park at the other side of the hotel. This was full, but to his credit the receptionist came outside and told me to park across some paving. The pay and display is £1 per hour so avoid it if at all possible.
The problem of noise within the hotel would, from looking at reviews further down this page, appear to be not isolated. That's a real shame. I wouldn't completely rule out returning, but as a good night's sleep is what it's all about, I would definitely try to find an alternative first.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    10
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
6
6
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Travelodge was ideally located for the purpose of our visit - booking in revealed that our room keys were missing? However, The Receptionist was friendly and efficient and had soon solved the problem and allocated us another room. I wonder what would have happened if another room had not been available? I suspect that the room had been double booked. We stayed in Room 30, which had a rather unpleasant odour and would have benefited from a freshening up. Attention to detail would be an observation here, and more thorough cleaning required. Parking was the main issue at this venue, I had to park on the street and fortunately managed to find a place to park close by. Overall not bad just a bit of cleaning and maybe an arrangement with The Harvester to resolve the parking issue, they currently charge £1 per hour even overnight, which is a bit steep.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in a family room 2 adults 1 child. The king size bed was comfortable and the pillows decent. 2 put up beds on either side which were comfortable enough. Everyday the bins were emptied and the beds remade which was nice. We did find a dirty towel under the bed from a previous guest and a brand new pair of knickers under the other bed!! Lol which is why cleanliness only got an average. Other than that though no complaints. Ladies on reception were always polite and helpful. Not a lot of parking spaces though, so really was first come first served. We got a space and then left the car where it was for our stay and used the tube which was a five minute walk away. Also a handy sainsburys local next to the tube station.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 3 nights Thursday to Sunday. Room was clean until we saw under the bed. Saturday night people in the next room were in and out allowing the door to slam all night. They were eventually quiet at 7am. Staff were aware of them doing this as we were only 2 rooms from the reception but they did nothing to sort it out.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Niki from Customer Services at Travelodge London Ilford Gants Hill, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We remind all of our customers to keep to reasonable noise levels so we are sorry to learn this was not followed by other guests at the hotel. Feedback is invaluable and we thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Normally use this Travelodge when visiting London and it is our first visit since the refurbishment, bed changes etc.
Nice and clean and tidy and the reception staff were helpful and friendly. The hype about the beds is true, they are very comfortable.
Does what it says on the tin and for the deal I got........

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

A textbook stay in a Travelodge with a clean and perfectly adequate room.

The car park is a little on the small size with only 15 spaces but I grabbed the last one when I arrived about 1030pm. There is a note of the front door that you can park next door in the Harvester for £1 overnight.

Two drunk guests in the lobby talking to the receptionsit when I arrived but did not hear much noise throughout the stay. Up and gone by 7am, so not much else to report.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

I was in London with my family and wanted a budget friendly hotel. The Travelodge at Gantts Hill fulfilled my requirements. The hotel is well maintained and clean and the staff very friendly and courteous. The location of the hotel is good since it is close to the Gantts Hill tube (5 minutes walk) and you can catch the Central Line and be in London in just 30 minutes. There are numerous restaurants around the place and one especially gets tempted by the Bagel place when walking to the underground.The family room provided had two separate cots for the kids and was spacious for a family of 4. It exceed my expectations since i was expecting to be cramped based on earlier experiences. The only problem you may face is if you drive there, the hotel has limited parking spaces. Overall i would definitely recommend this hotel to any tourists who are going to be out and about in London for most of the day and just require a clean, comfortable and quite place to rest at night. Since this property is situated off the main road, it is peaceful and quite and has no noise from traffic or any other sources. Overall i was very happy with my experience and would definitely stay there again if I am to visit London in the future.

Room Tip: Hotel doesnt have an elevator so if you have a problem with stairs, do ask for a ground floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge London Ilford Gants Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Ilford Gants Hill

Address: Beehive Lane, Gants Hill, Ilford IG4 5DR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Ilford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ilford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge London Ilford Gants Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge - London Ilford Gants Hill Hotel London
Travelodge London Ilford Gants Hill Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge London Ilford Gants Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.