We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New menu limited, quality of food poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of China Brasserie

China Brasserie
North street | Near the Capitol Theatre, Horsham, England
+44 1403 218218
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 128 restaurants in Horsham
Price range: $17 - $34
Cuisines: Chinese, Fusion, Chinese Hotpot
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: China Brasserie is a contemporary Chinese restaurant well known for superb menus featuring a selection of healthy, quality local produce used in every dish. Harnessing flavours from different regions of China, there is simply something for everyone, as well as offering all of your classic favourites. With fresh dishes and friendly service China Brasserie is an enjoyable experience.VISIT US TODAY!
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“New menu limited, quality of food poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This used to be by far the best Chinese restaurant in town. Ordered a takeaway this evening to find the menu is now limited to about 7 main dishes listed below

Chicken Breast £7.50
Pork £7.50
Beef £8.50
Seabass £11.50
King Prawns £9.25
Squid £9.00
Scallop £11.75

Sweet & Sour traditional sauce with Pineapple, Mixed Pepper & Onion
Chuan Bao sticky sauce with Chilli & Onion
Ginger & Spring Onion classic thousand year old sauce
Szechuan mixed Vegetables in a hot Chilli & mixed Spice sauce
Rising Sun tangy Tomato based sauce with Water Chestnuts & freshly chopped Spring Onion
Black Bean steamed Black Soya Beans with Chilli, Garlic, Ginger & dried Clementine peel
Kung Po

The menu used to be expansive and the quality of the food exceptional, now it's very limited and to be perfectly honest very overpriced.

Having talked to the restaurant, they are not under new ownership, but have revamped the menu to apparently offer the customer a better quality of food. A few of my favourites are no longer on the menu and what is left is not as good as it used to be.

What a shame, this used to be my go to for a quality takeaway.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    42
    24
    6
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Large group - great time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Booked a table for a large group of my daughter's friends ages 16-21. The restaurant staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, the food was great and they had a fantastic time. We took their advice and had a set meal to avoid any delay. We certainly won't go to any other Chinese restaurant in Horsham now! Highly recommended!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quality food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

A great restaurant with a great ambience. The service was excellent and the food and drinks were served without delay, even though they were fully booked. Definitely worth a try if you are looking for good Chinese food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“'A Hidden Gem'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I enjoyed a wonderful meal here recently for a birthday celebration and was bowled over by the quality of the food. Firstly the building itself is worthy of mention as I was told it is one of the oldest buildings in Horsham and has been sympathetically restored with the original flagstone floors , brickwork and beams all in view. The decor is also superb with beautiful Chinese oil paintings adorning the walls. The host Yee was a real charachter and looked after us superbly. Unbeknown to me our group had pre ordered some specials and in particular some wonderful fresh seafood. We were treated to fantastic Lobster served I think with soy, ginger, spring onions etc - Scallops in chilli and oyster sauce, jumbo salt and spicy king prawns and then a magnificant fresh dover sole! On top of this we enjoyed some more usual chinese dishes, all superb. The service was brilliant, and the restaurant has a cosy and intimate feel. I live in London but hope to back with my partner soon!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Perfect Anniversary Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

An ideal restaurant for a quiet romantic meal, we had booked and had a nice table in the front, drinks came quickly and once we'd ordered so do the starters. We had aromatic duck which was tender and moist, followed by our main dishes, which wasn't rushed but again didn't have too long to wait.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Brasserie also viewed

Horsham, West Sussex
Horsham, West Sussex
 
Horsham, West Sussex
Horsham, West Sussex
 

Been to China Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage China Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.