We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great menu, great food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe By The Lake

Cafe By The Lake
Sumners Ponds Chapel Road | Barns Green, Horsham RH130PR, England
+44 1403 732539
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 134 Restaurants in Horsham
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Cafe by the Lake is family run restaurant, bar and cafe at Sumners Ponds in the quaint picturesque village of Barns Green. We are open to all, including day visitor from 8:00am each day serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, drinks, snacks and ice cream. Tuesday to Sunday our bar and restaurant is open until 10:30pm serving evening meals. Enjoy a full English breakfast, lunch or afternoon tea on the decking overlooking the lake, or something a bit more warming during the winter, inside the cosy restaurant. Home cooked meals are also available in the evenings on Tuesday - Sunday nights as well as drinks from the bar. Our licensed bar has Peroni and Kozel on draught with a wide selection of other bottled lagers and ciders, an extensive wine and spirit selection and local ales both on draught and bottled. Live music and quiz nights as well as other larger events are planned throughout the year. We Hope to see you soon.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great menu, great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Was staying on Sumners pond camp site and used the restaurant one night for evening meal. Wife had Halloumi burger while I had beef burger with fries and daughter had kids meal of sausage and chips. The menu was more extensive than I would have thought for a camp site which I was pleasantly surprised about with more fancy options if required.
The food was out at the table in good time and was thoroughly enjoyable indeed. Even the daughter who is a fussy eater loved the sausage and chips with beans.
Staff were all very pleasant and polite and nothing was too much trouble.
We visited again on Saturday night just to listen to the live music and meet friends for a drink, the place was rammed and it was quite an effort to get a drink from the bar as the queue was out the door and along the patio most of the evening. Could have done with more bar staff on busy nights I think, but overall very impressed indeed!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew M, Business Manager (Back Office) at Cafe By The Lake, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our business (Café by the Lake at Sumners Ponds) and we are pleased that you had a very good experience.

We currently have two till / ordering points in the restaurant, however one was "cash only" at the time of your visit which may have slowed things down a little.

Today we have ordered new and additional card processing terminals, which will arrive in time for the start of the summer holidays next week and should speed up the ordering and queuing process.

We look forward to seeing you again shortly!

Kind regards.

Matthew Miller
Business Manager (back office)
office@sumnersponds.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Brilliant night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Found lovely restaurant on a campsite. Live music from Millie Cartright. Who was brilliant. Food was lovely little slow on service eg 1.1/2 hours from order to meal. But food was lovely when it arrived

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great informal cafe with lovely views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Nice varied menu and lovely views of the lake outside. Outside seating is lovely but could be a bit 'fresher' inside the cafe.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We've just returned from a few days camping at Sumner's Ponds and enjoyed 2 dinners and 1 lunch here (and must confess to morning coffee and cake too!) This is far more than a cafe - it serves restaurant quality meals all of which were delicious. There is a good selection in the menu plus specials. The duck deserves a special mention, definitely yummy, and followed by a summer fruit pavlova. Shame about the diet now beckoning - we'll be back though.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good quality and plenty of choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Regular visitor, even when not staying at Sumner Ponds. Plenty of menu choice, beautiful location and lots of indoor seating if weather not great for sitting outside. Friendly staff and good service.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe By The Lake also viewed

 
Horsham, West Sussex
 

Been to Cafe By The Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe By The Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.