We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb restaurant, friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Tristan

Restaurant Tristan
3 Stans Way, Horsham RH12 1HU, England
01403 255 688
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 134 Restaurants in Horsham
Price range: $24 - $60
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Housed in a 16th Century building in the historic town of Horsham, Restaurant Tristan opened in 2008 and has been a firm favourite with local foodies ever since. Inside, original wooden beams contrast with contemporary style to create an intimate setting for lunch or dinner. Chef and Proprietor Tristan Mason worked in top restaurants like The Greenhouse and Mirabelle before becoming Head Chef at The Hare where he achieved his first Michelin Star. The menu at Restaurant Tristan is predominantly British with some creative French influences, with dishes like terrine of pheasant and turbot with truffle risotto taking centre stage. Ingredients are locally sourced wherever possible and the extensive wine list is designed to complete this truly unforgettable dining experience.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This was the third time I had dined at this superb restaurant. It is not cheap, but the superb service and extras - brilliant bread, delightful sweets, fantastically friendly wife of the owner - more than compensate. Menu imaginative and exciting. One of the best meals I have eaten, in a fantastic atmosphere. Will return again for special occasions. Thoroughly deserving of Michelin star.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    52
    21
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food but slow,slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We visited this Michelin Star restaurant with good friends. First impressions on entry were very good but that increased to WOW when we were shown to our excellent table upstairs. The staff were obviously carefully selected, knew their stuff, and smiled happily and genuinely....even when we garbled in pigeon French!
We chose the "tasting" menu which they readily changed for the one in our party who has a fish allergy. Cocktail great, and a very impressive wine list to suit all tastes. The food did not disappoint either but the service from the kitchen seemed incredibly slow, which in turn had a rather negative impact on the staff who apparently failed to notice that we had to leave to catch our taxi before enjoying all our courses........pity because everything else deserves 10/10!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cant fault it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food great service looks small but its so filling! Stuffed to the brim lovely for a special moment to share with friends or family. Go go go!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food and 1st class service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My partner took me to Tristans for my birthday in May 2013. The food was amazing and the staff were first class. Every little detail on the plate was perfect.
I would highly recommend to anyone who appreciates excellent quality food :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

After a really poor experience at Wabi which is directly opposite Tristan, I have decided to shift my allegiance to restaurant Tristan. I have had two wonderful experiences at this restaurant and will continue to come to the restaurant as opposed to wasting my time elsewhere.

The salmon and beetroot which I had last week was fantastic as was the crab starter. Previously I had the passion fruit soufflé which was outstanding.

The only downside is the slightly slow service but aside from that I will continue to come to this establishment because the quality of food is consistently great. The staff are friendly and really care about us when we are there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Tristan also viewed

 
Horsham, West Sussex
Horsham, West Sussex
 

Been to Restaurant Tristan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Tristan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.