We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woke up in pain” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Horsham Central Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Horsham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Travelodge Horsham Central Hotel
Save
You added Travelodge Horsham Central Hotel to your Saves list
Worthing Road | Exchange House, Horsham RH12 1SQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Horsham
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Woke up in pain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel itself is fine, well maintained, staff friendly excellent location. The mattress sunk in the middle so we woke feeling like we'd been severely beaten- this seems to be a common problem with travellodge. We have a baby and we could have done with a bath. The plug got jammed in the sink so had an almost overflowing sink.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
14
26
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ive stayed at Travelodges many times, first time at Horsham. One of the things I like about them is that you know the standard as they're all pretty much the same. Some minor issues this time however in that there was only one set of towels for the booked double and also the shower gel had run out (which of course you don't realise until you get into the shower). On the positive side, room was very clean and quiet and the staff were very polite and apologetic when I let reception know about the minor problems. There's a vending machine in reception for the usual chocolate and soft drinks for when you get the munchies.

There's no onsite parking but you can park in the nearby Piries Place multi-storey which cost a couple of quid overnight. We went for an evening at the nearby Rookwood Golf club which was a 10 min £8 taxi ride away. The hotels's right in the city centre so very convenient for shopping.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Exactly what you expect from a Travelodge, very clean, good shower and a comfortable bed. A quick check with pleasant staff and an even quicker check out as paid in advance. It's the As it's located at the end of the shopping street it is very handy for getting breakfast in the morning. second time here and as it's so convient wen visiting firends will be staying again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Only 40 mins from Brighton and in a very nice Market Town. Some very nice pubs and good restaurants to eat all within walking distance. Only downside is there is no onsite parking. However there is a carpark 2 mins away, but you do have to pay.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Perfect place to stay for a couple nights in the middle of Horsham at the end of the shopping street, breakfast box is not for a healthy breakfast ;-) but OK as a snack. You can find in the shopping street other places to eat.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

You don't book a hotel like this and expect something more. In the same way you don't buy a Ford or a Kia and expect it to be like a Mercedes. So when we arrived we knew it would be functional and clean but that's about it. Fair enough.

The location is great. In fact that's what attracted me since we were visiting from abroad and I wanted to meet with a business associate who will only stay in budget hotels (otherwise we would have been in the Aurora in Crawley ....).

Nice entrance, everything clean and tidy. We arrived after a long flight, about 50 mins before the standard check in time. The lady behind the desk (who seemed to double as the cleaner, maintenance staff, greeter, everything .... frugal ....) explained we were early and if we wanted to check in we would need to pay more money ........ okay ..... so I understand hotels need to ensure that they have available rooms and a reasonable turn-around time but .....

When I asked if she had empty and prepared rooms she chirped up "yes we do" but then said "you have to pay". So I asked her why - she said that the check in time is 3pm and the check out time is 12pm and that it was 2.10pm so we had to wait, or pay. Erm .. even though she had empty rooms. When I explained we would be checking OUT again at 6am two days later, which would be 6 hours before we needed to and therefore surely this would balance things out, she looked like Alice Beer from Little Britain: "Computer says no".

The rooms are actually not bad - in the same way Ryan Air is actually not bad when you are forced to use it and its not QUITE as bad as you thought it might be. The rooms are very large but that just makes you realise how sparse they are. I liked the pod bathrooms - good quality. Hated the little plastic chair and trying to work on such a small desk fighting for space with a little kettle and tea bags, despite the acres of empty space around me. And the teeny weeny TV.

Clean and functional but did feel very much like I was staying in a young offenders institution or an immigration holding centre.

Despite my hatred of these kinds of establishments I would have actually stayed here again due to the location and the fact that its so clean - but what will ensure I don't is the fact that two of us paid £20 each (50% of our first nights stay) to be able to check in to completely empty and available rooms simply because we arrived 50 minutes before the 3pm threshold

That's poor thinking from a customer service point of view since if this employee had simply said okay, you're earlier and we have empty rooms ready, and things happen - we would have come back. Instead Travelodge in Horsham took the £20 but have lost a customer. Or two actually.

Room Tip: If you are having an affair or intend to commit suicide ...... or are making the transition from an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

You don't expect anything special from Travelodge, but they do an excellent job with the basics. Swift check in, Exceptionally clean room, Comfortable bed and a hot shower. What more could you ask for?
Only downside was you could hear everything happening in the corridor, doors opening and closing, people talking and even walking. Thankfully it's only a small hotel so there wasn't much of that.
No onsite parking but you can park for free 60 seconds away in the Blackhorse Way carpark between 6pm and 8am (just be warned its locked between 10pm and 6am)
Reception staff give the impression that they couldn't give a toss, perfect for the like of me as I'm not a fan of inane chit chat, just wanted my room key and got it within 30 seconds of arriving.Perfect!!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Horsham Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Horsham Central Hotel

Address: Worthing Road | Exchange House, Horsham RH12 1SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Horsham
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Horsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Travelodge Horsham Central Hotel UK - West Sussex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Horsham Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.