We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akash Restaurant

Akash Restaurant
66 East Street, Horsham RH12 1HN, England
+44 1403 260605
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 134 Restaurants in Horsham
Price range: $23 - $39
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Horsham's Longest Family run Indian Restaurant, serving authentic, quality Indian food since 1976. Set in a traditional and contemporary surround with a warm and relaxed atmosphere. We offer a fast and efficient take away service from an extensive mouthwatering menu selection. Please take a moment to view our website and we look forward to welcoming you for an Akash experience.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We have had take aways on several occasions and never been disappointed. Unfortunately a mistake was made on our order a couple of weeks ago and we mentioned it to the staff and they were extremely courteous and helpful. On our next visit we were treated like VIP's and offered a discount for our trouble. This is the sort of service generally lacking these days but very welcome and ensures our loyalty.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    22
    5
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Probably one of the best curry houses in this area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I've been dining at this Restaurant for probably around about a year and a half And it's one of the best in the area, The service, the food and the atmosphere you just can't beat it. So I just can't understand why people referred it to being Worse than a Sainsbury's takeaway, The only thing I can think of is because they have no
Palate Or even the understanding about Curries. And that's why they
buy takeways from supermarket's.

The Akash is a family owned restaurant which has been around since 1976. It has a very wide selection of different dishes on the menu which will pleased any palate, It also has a very good selection of wines and beers. It's great value and with amazing dishes to try. So please don't look at the negative reviews about this
restaurant. The reason why I say this is because My father was born in Calcutta And he grew up in
Darjeeling, He was the one that
taught me at a very early age about the the different dishes you find in India. So I think I know what I'm talking about when it comes to Curries...... unlike some

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Staff and were very rude and unhelpful shame as food is good and we always choose Akash over other restaurants. Will not be returning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sliced Chicken out of a packet”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Great service but the food is no better than costco sliced chicken. I was Ill after going here.The menu is so large that the only way to provide such a big menu is to have generic dishes with different sauces - either that or its all out of a microwave

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Brusque waiter!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Food was excellent and MOST of the waiting staff were lovely however meal felt very rushed. Did not appreciate being hurried.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akash Restaurant also viewed

Horsham, West Sussex
Horsham, West Sussex
 
Horsham, West Sussex
 

Been to Akash Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akash Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.