We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmela

Carmela
3 Denne Road, Horsham RH121JE, England
01403 275375
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 135 Restaurants in Horsham
Price range: $6 - $48
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Carmela Italian Restaurant is run by the Raciti family and offers an authentic Italian dining experience for all the family. Based in Denne Road Horsham, West Sussex, the 16th century listed building has been completely renovated from top to toe in a contemporary yet charming style which is both warm and inviting.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Classic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

A quintessential Italian with accommodating staff and nice food and decent prices. I chose the steak night deal and though the glass of wine was different to the bottle we had ordered, they were more than happy to oblige! Definitely would go again..

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    86
    49
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“almost like sicily”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very nice food and friendly staff in this restaurant. Best for some evening dinner in two. Prices are not too high for Sussex too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Rather mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The welcome we received was a little cool, some of the staff were a little aloof, the food was a little bland and the ambience almost non-existent.
It wasn't awful, but I wouldn't rush to go back as there are so many great restaurants to choose from in Horsham.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Like being in Sicily - pity about the weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Not many places serve smoked swordfish, I can't think why because it is delicious. Caramela smoke their own to perfection. Signature pasta dishes are tasty, generous portions and cooked to perfection - al dente. Strongly recommend and if the sun puts in an appearance there is a lovely terrace.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Classic Italian!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

With both Italians and professional chefs in our group of 9, many of who were back for their second visit, I was expecting good quality, good value food. I was not disappointed! Service was quick, friendly and attentive, with an exhaustive menu and wine list for all budgets. Classic Italian choices, with few surprises, all served confidently with what seems like years of experience.
Trying hard to find faults, and only a few spring to mind: no specials board, the food could have been a little hotter, and all delivered to the table at the same time. Plus, the mixed fried fish starter needed a little garlic mayo to help cut through the batter, but my main course of liver was well cooked, well presented and delicious (crushed pistachios and balsamic reduction set the dish off perfectly!)
I hear there's quite a few choices of Italian restaurant in Horsham, but I'd rather go back here again before risking a lesser experience elsewhere. Well done Carmela!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmela also viewed

 
 

Been to Carmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.