We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grim - was certainly my experience!"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Redding | Harrow Weald, Harrow HA3 6SH, England (Formerly Grim's Dyke Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Harrow
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Grim - was certainly my experience!"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Food and service was mediocre at best. Salad "garnish" well past it sell by date but placed on the plates in any case - not acceptable and quite disgusting. Food portions very small, does not present value for money.

Staff could do with going back to hotel school to understand how to handle guests concerns and to handle problems on the spot instead of passing the buck. Manager condescending and inept.

Fabulous building, steeped in history set in magnificent grounds, shame it is all badly let down by the staff. This hotel is faded grandeur, could do with some investment in new fabrics and fittings.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    111
    44
    13
    14
See reviews for
72
128
14
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We have just attended a wedding at |Grims Dyke Hotel. What a fabulous weekend !
Beautiful rooms - staff who cannot do enough for you .The grounds are amazing .
Food was excellent , very tasty breakfast !
I cannot think of anything bad to say .
It would be great for a romantic weekend or a base for shopping in London.
We will be going back !
Best of all VERY GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucinda_2228
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel recently, the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was away from the main building, and the porter escorted us to our room, helping us with our luggage. The room itself was much better than we expected-spacious and very clean. Overall a great stay and good service.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

My wife and I have family who live in Harrow. We have stayed at the Grim's Dyke Hotel multiple times and have enjoyed each of our stays there. The check in is easy and the accomodations are nice for European standards. The breakfast is tasty and well prepared.

Overall we have enjoyed our multiple trips to Grim's Dyke and will likely stay there again when visiting family.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

We were attending a party in the area and this was one of the closest hotels to the venue..Really lovely driveway up to the actual hotel, plenty of free car parking. The hotel staff were all really friendly and our room was really nice and clean. We were both really pleasantly surprised as to how nice the room was considering the star rating.. The only little negatives were that the water was cold when I went to shower at about 7.30pm (but fine in the morning) and that checkout was 11am. Also when we tried to ring reception to order a taxi the intrenal phone didnt work-so we tried from our mobiles but nobody picked up..We went to reception and within less than 10 minutes a taxi arrived.. otherwise really enjoyed our stay and would absolutely return and recommend it

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

We recently hosted as day conference at the Grimsdyke Hotel, a majestic tutor style country house, with a refined atmosphere, tucked away in a nearby location of Harrow, Middlesex. We were accommodated in the period music room which was luxurious, spacious and filled with natural light. This setting was conductive to breaking out into smaller groups as well as presenting, to stimulate creative dialogue and thinking. The conference provisions were more than sufficient with pads, pens and flipcharts. All the staff were extremely helpful with setting up the conf equipment, projector and wireless and most importantly we were always greeted with a smile.

The structure of our long day included regular timely tea breaks, with delightful treats, from early morning croissants and coffee to handmade cookies and refreshments. Service was prompt and all the staff from management to housekeeping were extremely attentive to our requirements, friendly and professional.

We choose a fresh buffet lunch, which was nicely presented and of high quality. A variety of food was served from sword fish to selection of fresh meat and salads and fine wines.

The house is surrounded by a welcoming green space of formal gardens and lawns.

Overall, an impressive elegant country setting with a professional twist and a family feel.

Dr Tamira King, Brunel University.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

My partner and I stayed at Grims Dyke for a valentines treat and we enjoyed every second of it!! The rooms were lovely and cosy, the food was first class and the service we received was exceptional. Will deffinetly stay here again...........Thank you

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel

Address: Old Redding | Harrow Weald, Harrow HA3 6SH, England (Formerly Grim's Dyke Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Harrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Harrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grims Dyke London
Dyke Grims Hotel
Hotel Grims Dyke
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel Harrow, Middlesex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.