We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic architecture” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Redding | Harrow Weald, Harrow HA3 6SH, England (Formerly Grim's Dyke Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Harrow
Oxford
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic architecture”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed for one night (as is was within easy reach of the cemetery) and ate in the restaurant. Stayed as most will do in the new block which was fine, though a very short walk from the food. Initially the room was cold (it was -3 outside) but we were brought an electric heater immediately. The food was very good. The main communal rooms were fabulous and the only shame was we did not have enought time to really enjoy them. The grounds looked lovely, but were covered in snow.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    110
    44
    13
    14
See reviews for
72
128
14
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We went there after Xmas. The bed rooms were clean and it is possible to bring your dog with you. In general is the decoration in the main house tired with old furniture. Bar area is ok, but all guests had to have long waiting time for their drinks and snacks (restaurant was closed for some days). Service personal was engaged, but seemed to be understaffed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed for two nights as we were guests at a wedding. We found the association with horror movies a good bonus and as we drove up the drive we could understand why this location and building attracted Boris Karlov etc. Truly gothic.
We stayed in the garden rooms , we had a king size bed that was very comfortable and the look and feel of the bedroom was contemporary and worked well. Tea and biscuits a nice touch. The bathroom needs some work as the shower was really difficult to use, and no we're not old and frail ,it had a very odd system for turning on and off that took two of us to turn. But other than that it was fine. Though paper thin walls especially to corridor.
On our first night we entered the bar , alone, and it was exactly like the bar in Fawlty Towers , same layout and everything, we expected The Major to walk in and say " Hello Fawlty".....it was funny. Then gradually it filled with a nice loud group in their late 70's who were all there for a music night which due to lack of attendance had been transferred to the restaurant, where we had booked for dinner! It was very funny , but we liked it as it made the room buzz and gave us a good laugh. The food was odd. We ordered a starter which was apparently brioche with mushroom and welsh rarebit , well honestly we couldn't taste any cheese , and we truly wondered what on earth we were eating, it was just a weird slush with not much taste of anything but it gave us a good laugh. Then a woman in her 40's in a group of 4 suddenly got up from her seat , bent double with hand over her mouth , making retching movements and being generally loud lept into the aisle ( bear in mind it's a full restaurant with a man and his keyboard in the fireplace) her friend then got up to try to help her to the loo but instead the loud woman kept prancing about then went through a staff door and kept doing retching sounds and movements and came back in the restaurant. The friend then announced " it's the fish".......great !
My pork tenderloin came sliced and placed down the centre of the plate and was placed on top of sweetcorn with one small cube of beetroot on the side........very funny but good if you're on the Dukan diet! Pudding was very very very sweet and even we couldn't eat it. But we had a very entertaining evening.
Breakfast was odd , no choice just the full english which was very good.


The wedding went well and we had a good time because it was the wedding of a special friend and great to see him happy. Though have to confess that we googled one of the horror movies just before the ceremony and saw a big scene in front of the huge gothic fireplace which added some spice to the vows!

Oh, and we had fish for the wedding main course and nobody was ill!!! It was fine.

The service was very good , reception staff really lovely and very helpful and one of the waiters, a tall dark frenchman was very good looking! Guests would have liked to dance with him!

All in all this is a three star that is a good three star and the service is four star.

Room Tip: We liked the garden room - ask for a kingsize bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABBOTS LANGLEY
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We only live about 10 miles away from this Hotel but have never stayed or dined there. This new Year was special in so far as we were attending a wedding but the whole experience was extremely pleasing. I was late asking for an early check-in as Wedding was at 2pm & check-in officially 3pm, but they were very obliging and we got in at 12.45. Food was excellent across the board 5star quality, Wedding breakfast was just superb but also the pre-dining nibbles and the evening reception foods were superb too.

Service on New Years Eve all day was absolutely spot on, I would have no hesitation on recommending this venue for a wedding or any form of dining experience.

Room was comfortable, clean and adequately equipped. Shower was a bit naff though.
Special price per room for function was £95.00 including breakfast that was for two of us so sounds good value till you look at the normal weekend special rate of £99.00 dinner bed and breakfast for two and we didnt get the Dinner as we were at wedding Breakfast. However it didnt spoil our general sense of pleasure at having stayed there. They also do various theme nights etc. and we fully intend to look into attending the Gourmet night looks fantastic and if food is half as good it will be worth the money.

Breakfast next day was slightly disappointing as had to ask 3 times for toast, then complain, to get any, breakfast came minus the Black pudding too but put all that down to fact that everybody seemed to descend on them at same time so decided not to make any more of it.

Room Tip: We had garden room and they were great, others were staying in main house rooms which supposedly wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Organised a hen do for 16 people at the Murder Mystery night at the Grims Dyke Hotel. Clumsy unprofessional staff poured coffee on me when walking by. It was boiling hot and then the waitress tried to wipe it when it was steaming hot. Had to stop her as she would have burnt my skin. Actual Murder Mystery night was OK but very over priced! Very unhelpful hotel manager and other staff. Coffee had burnt and damaged my top and the hotel werent even interested in providing a good customer service. In my experience this hotel has gone down over the years. Used to use it for many corporate events through work but have now taking the business else where! Would NOT recommend at all. Go else where for a cheaper price and better service as that is one of many things this hotel does lack!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We booked the hotel for a three night dinner, bed and breakfast stay, and it was splendid. The menu was wide and varied and all tasted beautiful, and the afternoon tea a real treat. We stayed down in the hotel block, below the car park and the room was great but the bed a little short for my husband who is six foot tall! Well worth a visit and we look forward to a return trip and great deal again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We got married at Grim's Dyke and had our celebration meal there afterwards. The food was lovely (the Choux Swan dessert is really spectacular, tho rather filling). The service was impeccable, and the help and advice we received from Claire, the Wedding Co-ordinator, made the event a lot less stressful than it could have been. We had a magical day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel

Address: Old Redding | Harrow Weald, Harrow HA3 6SH, England (Formerly Grim's Dyke Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Harrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Harrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grims Dyke London
Dyke Grims Hotel
Hotel Grims Dyke
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel Harrow, Middlesex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.