We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid £99 deal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Redding | Harrow Weald, Harrow HA3 6SH, England (Formerly Grim's Dyke Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 22% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Harrow
northumberland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Splendid £99 deal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We booked the hotel for a three night dinner, bed and breakfast stay, and it was splendid. The menu was wide and varied and all tasted beautiful, and the afternoon tea a real treat. We stayed down in the hotel block, below the car park and the room was great but the bed a little short for my husband who is six foot tall! Well worth a visit and we look forward to a return trip and great deal again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    132
    50
    15
    14
See reviews for
84
147
14
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We got married at Grim's Dyke and had our celebration meal there afterwards. The food was lovely (the Choux Swan dessert is really spectacular, tho rather filling). The service was impeccable, and the help and advice we received from Claire, the Wedding Co-ordinator, made the event a lot less stressful than it could have been. We had a magical day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I booked a £99 dinner, bed & breakfast deal, and had a room in the 'old' part of the hotel.

I was advised that as there was a 'Murder Mystery' night that I'd have to access my room via the fire escape that evening, but that was fine as I'd requested this room specifically.

The hotel grounds and building are charming. Check in could've been a tad more welcoming, and the lad that showed us to the room (and offered to carry the bags) forgot to mention that one of the light switches was the 'master' power switch so we were literally in the dark until we found him again lol!
The room was a tad dated, but spotlessly clean with a HUGE bed that we found exceptionally comfortable.

Dinner was great, but the service could've been a bit faster initially - Staff were focussed on catering the 90 guests for the event in the main hall upstairs.
However, once we'd got the maitre D's attention it was excellent. Food was lovely, and the ambience was charming too!

We paid an extra £2.95 each to have breakfast delivered to the room - It was cooked wonderfully and delivered bang on the time requested!

We had a few drinks / snacks in the bar. It was a very relaxing experience and the bar staff were really friendly and generally great at what they did. When it was quiet they would bring drinks to the table and just went that extra mile - I was very impressed.

You'd never think you were so close to Watford and feel as if you're in the middle of nowhere - Great for a quiet getaway!

Overall a total bargain for the price as you feel like it's actually a much more expensive experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Just spent a great week end celebrating hubby's birthday with all our family members. Good meal, comfortable rooms, helpful staff. Good week end parking at Harrow and Wealdstone (£1 on Sunday and £5 Saturday) and non stop trains into central London taking 10 minutes. We will return.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Grims Dyke Hotel while attending a wedding there.

It's a beautiful venue for a reception with incredibly lovely grounds which made for a picturesque setting for the photos and a lovely drinks reception in the garden and grounds.

The food was excellent. It's very difficult to prepare food for a large number of people and serve everyone so as to keep it all hot and appetising. I was very impressed with the quality and presentation of the food. The staff during the reception were efficient and helpful.

I had a room in the garden annexe and I would agree with previous comments that they are over priced. The rooms are a bit shabby, the bedding was a bit thin and they are charging more than the rooms are actually worth.. I understand the rooms in the main block are nicer but they are also more expensive. That said everything worked and the room was perfectly clean. Service was basically fine.

The breakfast was in contrast excellent. It was freshly cooked to order (which I always like). There was a range of cold buffet options and good coffee.

As I was attending a wedding and only really wanted somewhere to sleep afterwards the hotel was fine. I wouldn't have a problem staying there again if I were attending a function there, but I wouldn't choose to stay there because I like slightly more luxury for the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The main building was previously home to Sir William Gilbert, of Gilbert & Sullivan fame, and some of the architectural features were outstanding if the decor was a little 'tired' in places.We were located in the Garden Lodge rooms and it was warm, comfortable and quiet, a perfect place to relax during a busy weekend. We had an excellent meal in the main restaurant on Friday evening, again the character in the decor and features were very nice, we had a table that was almost a part of a very ornate fireplace !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Thank you to Claire Donovan and her team for making our day very special. As we are a more mature couple we did not want anything to extreme and Claire helped us get exactly the day we wanted. Excellent food wine in a beautiful setting couldnt ask for anything more.

Room Tip: did not stay overnight so cannot comment on rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel

Address: Old Redding | Harrow Weald, Harrow HA3 6SH, England (Formerly Grim's Dyke Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Harrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Harrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grims Dyke London
Dyke Grims Hotel
Hotel Grims Dyke
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel Harrow, Middlesex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.