We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Event” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Redding | Harrow Weald, Harrow HA3 6SH, England (Formerly Grim's Dyke Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Harrow
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Event”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed for one night for an smallish event. Hotel was a little gem tucked away in the landscape. Room looked lovely, with a nice big bed although this turned out to be two mattresses pushed together which was quite uncomfortable to sleep on. Food at dinner was lovely and I was very suprised by the full silver service and teamwork brought together by the staff. Breakfast wasn't as good. Very rushed and communal tables, which isnt too bad if your with people from your event but we were sat with people we didnt know. The cold selection at the buffet was poor and with attitude of, when its gone its gone and no one was topping it up. Average selection of hot food, not quite what was expected from a 4* hotel for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    110
    44
    13
    14
See reviews for
72
128
14
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Returned from a two night stay at the Grims Dyke Hotel yesterday and have nothing but praise for the hotel. The setting is fantastic and you wouldn't think you were in such close proximity to Central London. Ideally situated for a trip to Wembley - a short taxi ride away from Stanmore station. Food was excellent and room clean and comfortable, wouldn't hesitate in booking again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ferrariwa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We were first introduced to this hotel while attending a friends wedding at a nearby venue.
To our stunniing surprise we had been checked into one of the Garden Lodge Rooms, 106 I think, which turned out to be one of the best hotel room ever! It contained a jacuzzi bath, marble bathroom, king sized bed (or looked it), wall mounted flat screen tv, sofa/armchairs, and outside table/chairs plus more! The nights are eeringly silent and pitch black meaning you'll have the best nights sleep. It was so good we decided on a second visit a year later.

Good Points are its location, particulary for us as we travelled from the north and is 15/20 minutes from the motorway. It is very discreet, although first time visitors might have trouble locating it, but a good point for privacy and noise.
Bad Points are no tube station within walking distance.
Taxi into central london was £22, although return journey from central taxi firm was £33!
Closest tubes are Stanmore and Harrow on the Hill (£5-10 depending on time).
Unless your willing to pay extra for the garden lodge rooms, the other rooms are decent without being anything to rave home about.
Weddings/events can be disruptive if your staying within the main hotel - we stayed an extra night in one of the 'suites' but were told to bizarrely use the fire exit for entry/exit while the evening event was being held!
Otherwise a great hotel!

Room Tip: Garden Lodge Rooms will provide the best experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Stayed here on a special Sunday Night DB&B deal. Have stayed here before in the Annexe rooms. This time we wanted to try the rooms in the main house as it was a Sunday and there was no wedding on. Managed to secure The Sullivan Suite upstairs in the Main House. Room was the size of a football pitch with a four poster bed which appeared dwarfed in the size of the room. The bed was small and really needs to be upgraded to a King Size bed in a room of this size.

Dinner was first class as always in the restaurant as was the breakfast in the morning. My only critisism would be the price of drinks which are 5 star prices in 4 star accommodation.

Overall very good.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed here last night and what a lovely place, steeped in history added bonus, Staff friendly and very helpful. Bathroom spotlessly clean, thick toilet paper,(not that cheap thin stuff) and complimentary toiletries. Flat screen TV. Tea/coffee, biscuits in room and lovely fresh cotton sheets with squishy pillows. The double bed was more like an Emperor size and so comfortable. We are certainly going to stay again - didn't have chance to look round the grounds this time but in the Summer will have more time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We got married at the Grimsdyke in July 2011 so please bear in mind this review covers both the hotel and the wedding. Mostly it was very good with a few areas for improvement along the way.

Wedding planning:
Good points:
We chose the Grimsdyke because they offered a summer barbeque which sounded a nice change and the menu looked impressive. Planning was straightforward and the staff were all very friendly. We had three meetings before the day and had plenty of time to work out the details. On the day, the staff were attentive and really worked hard to keep things to plan, even moving parts of the barbeque setup when heavy rain beforehand had soaked the lawn. The building and gardens are beautiful and almost reason on their own to pick this venue.

Room for improvement:
There were a few bits that didn’t go to plan. The Music Room was supposed to be redecorated before our wedding but it wasn’t - no one told us it hadn't been and didn’t realise it mattered. The food sounded better than it was, e.g some menu items were missing and the ‘Homemade burgers in Foccacia bread’ were actually poor efforts served in Costco sesame seed baps – at £100 a head without the reception that’s not good enough and was really pretty embarrassing - weddings should be about the finer things, not burger vans. During planning we’d agreed that coffee would be served after the meal (normal for a wedding you’d think) but at our last meeting it became £3.75 a cup (sorted thankfully). Mint in the cocktails was brown and tired – garden produce is great but go to Tesco if it looks like that! There was no provision of food for 4 coeliac guests despite agreement. I guess the lesson for all that is note absolutely everything down and have it agreed in writing.

Rooms: We had the larger of the two bridal suites. The room is huge with lovely views of the garden on two sides. The room is a little tired in places and maintenance isn’t great - the toilet door handle fell off trapping one of the bridesmaids and the big plasma TV would only get an snowy analogue picture. I would say that size is the number one factor for the bride’s room and on that count it delivers.

Wedding Reception:
The reception was held in the Music room and we used Barry, the ‘house DJ’. Barry it seems is a ‘traditional wedding DJ’ and although we asked him to play particular music he stuck to Buttercup, It’s Raining Men and Wigfield all night. We also got about a minute and a half into the first dance and he told everyone to join in! I may not be the best mover but at least give me a chance! If that’s what you’re after then sign him up but with hindsight it was all a bit dreadful (sorry Barry). Consequently most guests retreated downstairs to the hotel bar or the garden which spoilt things a bit. The buffet was plentiful, based on the hotel recommendations and although perhaps not the most adventurous food it went down well.

General hotel comments: A couple of guests likened the experience to Faulty Towers – I hope in a nice way. There were a few 'manuel-esque' stories, e.g. wedding guests being made to take a seat in the restaurant before they could buy a drink to take to the bar (which was closed) and issues with reception staff not booking rooms for the wedding party. Our 4 tier wedding cake was also stacked in the wrong order so instead of getting smaller towards the top it went in and out!

Overall? Lovely building and grounds, a bit tired inside in places and could do with a bit more attention to detail to justify the premium price. In terms of value, family were surprised at the cost and thought it was a cheaper wedding (sesame seed buns for the burgers, general food quality). The other food reviews on here are all very good so I'm sure if we'd gone for a more traditional meal it would have had a bit more wow factor.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We stayed overnight in this hideaway hotel to celebrate our 29th Wedding Anniversary. I was desparate for it to snow on our Wedding day but had to wait 29 years and boy did it snow!
A beautiful hotel in fabulous surroundings. We walked in the grounds around the hotel in the crisp snow after a lovely breakfast.
Our hotel room 108 was in the new block seperate from the main hotel and was clean, spacious and lovely and warm. I suspect the view from the window would normally be described as 'pleasant' but was transformed to 'spectacular' by the snow.
The staff were polite, efficient but a little reserved, especially the receptionist. However we met up with a very helpful, friendly bar manager when he helped us try to leave the grounds (we had a few attempts to get the car up the long driveway onto the main road). Would love to go there again.

Room Tip: rooms in the seperate block would be less noisy I suspect as the main hotel has weddings and Guilber...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel

Address: Old Redding | Harrow Weald, Harrow HA3 6SH, England (Formerly Grim's Dyke Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Harrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Harrow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grims Dyke London
Dyke Grims Hotel
Hotel Grims Dyke
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel Harrow, Middlesex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Grim's Dyke Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.