We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is 5 star central london ...but in Harrow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Incanto

Incanto
41 High Street | Harrow on the Hill, Harrow HA1 3HT, England
+44 20 8426 6767
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 133 Restaurants in Harrow
Price range: $31 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Incanto is a modern European restaurant. The restaurant is a bright and airy, dominated by a large skylight, and puts together old and new eye-catching features such as exposed wooden beams, comfortable cream banquettes and a 100-year old crystal chandelier. Our dining areas can seat up to 64, part of which is a private gallery on a mezzanine level for up to 30 diners and therefore adaptable for large and small celebrations. Incanto Restaurant was awarded its second AA Rosette for culinary excellence in November 2010. Feedback from the inspector delivered praise for the use of innovative ingredients, depth of flavours, creative presentation and excellent value for money. We are also listed in the Michelin and Good Food Guides.
UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“This is 5 star central london ...but in Harrow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I am always sceptical about the value of upmarket Italian restaurants. Leave your perceptions at the door. The owner has made this a special place , why ?. First, obviously the food - real love & care goes into the menu. The flavours in sauce on my ravioli was just sensational and the soufflé dessert was just beyond words. This is all good ...but there are more than a few a few places that serve decent food ...the award of excellent was down to the staff and particularly the owner. As we worked our way through the menu the advice of the owner was of someone who really cared for what we were going to order. Discussion was open and enlightening. I particularly liked the discussion around the wine ....my friend indicated our budgeted and the owner highlighted a wine which was a couple of pounds less... an excellent choice. Incanto is a real find. and we will be going back....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID T, Owner at Incanto, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi robert092 thank you for taking the time to review and it was great to meet you. We do love what we do and have been working really hard to perfect our menus and front of house so it’s always nice to hear such lovely feedback. Thank you for your comments and I hope to see you again soon, David Taylor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    42
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience - warm reception, great food and would go again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

After some great reviews on here, it doesn't disappoint. Even on a busy night the staff were attentive and helpful.

The menu is varied with a good mix of small through to large dishes. While other reviews say the portions are a bit small, I disagree - well proportioned but we did share a side with our main. The food was of an excellent standard and when the soufflé deflated we were entertained with a dessert sampler.

Overall, well tucked away, great value overall and would definitely go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID T, Owner at Incanto, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi RobWtravel, thank you for your comments. It’s great to hear how much you enjoyed your meal and I look forward to welcoming you back to Incanto. Thanks, David Taylor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Between a 4 and 5 - gone for 4”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Incanto is probably one of the best "upmarket" local restaurants we go to but a few tiny things would make it even better! We had to wait quite a while to have our order taken even though about half full on a midweek evening. And the waitress who brought the bread seemed flummoxed when we asked for olives - another waiter had to take our order for those!

The food is contemporary and very nicely presented, but you will still be peckish after two courses. I didn't have dessert but the coffee was served with a lovely trio of homemade marshmallow, strawberry macaroon and salted caramel chocolate truffle.

It's definitely quite pricey for the portions but we had a lovely night out so it was worth it!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID T, Owner at Incanto, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi Ratsomatic, thank you for your feedback and I’m sorry to read the service you received during your visit could have been better. We aim for our portions to be sized so you can enjoy the textures and flavours without them being domineering but I appreciate this isn’t always to everyone’s taste. I am glad though that you enjoyed the evening overall and I do hope you’ll try us again – we also have a set dinner menu where you can enjoy 3 courses for £23.95 which I think you would like. Thanks, David Taylor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not an ordinary Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were passing through Harrow Lunch time when we noticed Incanto restaurant, we parked and looked up the menu and was pleasantly surprised. We ordered their three course set lunch and what a fabulous meal. For the kick off the chef sent us a Parmesan foam which was amazing. My wife and I had the slow roasted lamb served on a bed of couscous with a side order of chilli sprouting broccoli, wonderful. Followed by a dessert to die for. The whole meal was orgasmic.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID T, Owner at Incanto, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi Chaiya thank you for your lovely comments. I’m so glad you gave us a try and hope you’ll be back for more – we change our menus regularly depending on the best seasonal ingredients so you’ll have to come back for more of our desserts! Thanks again, David Taylor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, and getting better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I go to Incanto every couple of months but my latest trip last night was the best yet. The food and wine list keep getting better. The antipasta is superb -- definitely try the squid. They are pulling together wonderful flavours.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVID T, Owner at Incanto, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi jrelzinga, thank you for your review. It’s always nice to hear feedback from our regular diners and I’m glad you are noticing the improvements we’ve been working so hard to make. In case you aren’t aware, we offer a loyalty card so you earn rewards points every time you dine at which can then be redeemed against drinks, meals or a gourmet hamper from Incanto Delicatessen – just ask one of our waiting staff the next time you’re dining with us. I hope to see you again soon, David Taylor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Incanto also viewed

Harrow, Middlesex
 

Been to Incanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Incanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.