We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lowther Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Lowther Hotel to your Saves list
The Lowther Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aire Street, Goole DN14 5QW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Goole
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Yorkshire England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here overnight on the 5th October 2012 and the staff could not have been more helpful.
When we couldn't get any taxis to take us to a dinner the staff used their own cars to ferry us across town.
The room was very clean and airy and the breakfast was great. Many thanks to all

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    23
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
24
4
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is beautifully restored to the former glory of the Principal building in Goole. It is full of fascinating industrial and local history, and worth visiting.
The area can seem a bit threatening, but I experienced no problems when there, and enjoyed the opportunity to walk through the adjacent dockland. While there, the Dock and Maritime Museum is well worth a visit.
The hotel staff were lovely - really friendly and acommodating. The evening menu was interesting and obviously derived from the mind of, and made on the premises by, the chef. The Pupkin Ravioli was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as step daughter was having a surprise 30th meal. Reception staff very friendly and upgraded our room without us asking. The room was very clean and spacious, never heard any music from cocktail bar. The only down side is you have to walk up quite a few stairs, to get to your room. Not sure if they have a lift, you would have to ask.
The breakfast was very good value and caters for all tastes from cereals, omelettes to full cooked breakfast and nothing is too much trouble. Would recommend this hotel and don't be put off by where it is situated.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

A friend and I decided to go for some lunch on our Monday lunch break, so we went to the lowther (because I admit The Percy was full). When we arrived we were amazed by the building and the greeting we received from the lovely young gentleman on shift, we were given food menus and seated in the restaurant. The restaurant was presented very well apart from our table being garnished by a wilted, dying flower. Service was prompt and the waiter was fantastically friendly and helpful even after we witnessed him being spoken to very rudely and inappropriately, in front of other guests, by a gentleman who, from a later conversation with, we discovered to be the owner of the business.
Food was of a good standard, reasonable presentation, well sized portions and good value for money. The only letdown being the portion sizes of two "identical" desserts varying greatly.

The conversation we had with the owner was insightful and interesting to some I'm sure, however, the history lesson didn't seem to be optional and quite honestly not our cup of tea.
Largely due to our waiter the overall experience was pleasant but due to the few shortcomings, will not be in a hurry to recommend or return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

All the hotel staff were friendly and I even cocked up the dates of my booking only had the suite available which they offered me at the same price. Very classy indeed.
Stayed a few times after so have stayed in a number of rooms, all for business. The superior rooms do differ though as when I first stayed had a lovely spacious bathroom with bath and shower, however the second time I stayed in the superior I had the room next door which had a cramped bathroom with no bath... so hit or miss for the same price.
Breakfast was nice enough (not the sausages) but all else cooked to order.
Staff were nice... only downside is the area surrounding but it is quiet...just nothing to do !

Room Tip: Choose superior and request a bath...as some only have cramped shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tekapo, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

July 2013. Impressed by the way all staff members were so genuinely friendly and helpful during our stay, Great atmosphere, excellent meals, Enjoyed our room for the charming way the rooms have been refurbished and are beautifully presented with all modern facilities.

Our stay at Goole rather than in York itself was rather unexpected, but turned out to be a memorable highlight of our UK visit..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We went to the Lowther Hotel to celebrate my partners mum's 80th birthday. We ate upstairs as there were over 20 of us. My first observation was when I asked the barmaid for a slice of lime in my drink - she used her fingers instead of tongs. We had a carvery meal, the Yorkshire puddings were very dry and the vegetables not very appetising - they had mixed, sprouts, green beans, peas and carrots together as if they were using up the last bits of lots of bags. Then they repeated peas and carrots mixed together as another choice. I suggest that the waiting staff when they set the table up check salt and pepper pots are full. This is my third time eating at the Lowther and I have not enjoyed one of the meals.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lowther Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lowther Hotel

Address: Aire Street, Goole DN14 5QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Goole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Goole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lowther Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 Star Hotel: The Lowther Hotel, recently restored to its former Georgian glory. The Hotel has 14 deluxe bedrooms, and 2 suites. The hotel caters for all sorts of private and commercial events such as weddings, birthdays, meetings & conferences. within the Lowther we have the famous Burlington Restaurant which served breakfast, lunch & dinner including an early bird menu 7 days a week. The Lounge is a perfect setting for litebite meals & our famous Afternoon Tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lowther Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lowther Hotel Goole, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lowther Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.