We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a gem of a place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lowther Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Lowther Hotel to your Saves list
The Lowther Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aire Street, Goole DN14 5QW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Goole
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“a gem of a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My sister and I recently held the wake after our mums funeral here. The surroundings, food and atmosphere were perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    23
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
24
4
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We visited the Lowther Hotel on Fri June 1st for a beautifully presented breakfast. Our friends had just recently been part of a function the previous week. We were in Goole due to a Family Get Together on June 9th with people from around the world. We had not planned on having a dinner following our event, but when we saw the Lowther Hotel and the Function Room, it all came together. We had about 50 people for a dinner on the 9th of June. I cannot say how fantastic the whole experience was for everyone. Great selection, very reasonable prices, top service, courteous and a tour of the murals by the owner himself. Wow!!! Everyone commented on the great service and food. I understand there is a Sunday carvery, but since we are from outside of the country, did not have time to try it. But I would suggest to anyone looking for a great meal or function to try the Lowther Hotel. Guests from our group thought the rooms were excellent as well. Will be returning there on our next visit from Canada.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I ate here for my grandparents' 60th wedding anniversary meal in 2011. The party included people from the ages of seven to 80-something, and everyone seemed to find everything to be excellent. The staff were incredibly friendly and professional, the manager very helpful, the food was outstanding (the best mushroom soup I've ever tasted) and the place itself looks great.

I have a lot of affection for Goole, but it doesn't seem to have the best of reputations, unfortunately. Hopefully, others will follow the lead of the Lowther, as it's the best place I've eaten in in East Yorkshire and is worth going to Goole for alone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We visited Goole to meet up with Old friends who used to live in Goole but now live in a village not far from there, we arranged to meet and have dinner in the hotel, which was absolutely fantastic, the food was just some of the best restaurant food I have ever tasted, we were fortunate enough to meet the Chef 'John' so we could tell him how good it was. We stayed in the hotel had two rooms with Daughter and Son-in-Law and both rooms were great, the beds are outstanding, probably the best hotel beds ever. The staff were well presented, pleasant and extremely helpful, what more could you wish for, will definately return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stopped at the Lowther in February 2011...it hadn't been open long, but I needed to be in Goole to see relatives. I knew this had been restored as it had featured on BBC Look North the previous summer. Didn't know what to expect, but it was great. Couldn't fault it. Very much worth a visit if you are in that area, even if it is only to look at the murals!

Room Tip: If you are disabled and need access to facilities, then make sure you tell them when you book. Reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Went to the Lowther Hotel for Sunday carvery after it was recommended. Arrived a bit early for our booking but were warmly welcomed and offered a seat in the Absolut bar while our table was being prepared. The bar was stunning, really nice decor and light and stylish fittings. The staff on duty were superb and looked after us really well, bringing a menu into the bar for us to look at before we went into the restaurant. Once our table was ready we were guided into the restaurant which again was nice and spacious with tasteful decor and a relaxing ambience.
My husband had ordered the garlic mushroom starter which was beautifuuly presented and tasted wonderful. After this was finished we got up to get our carvery meal and wow what a choice! With four different meats including beef, turkey, pork and ham, an excellent array of vegetables and flavourful gravy to top it all off it was the best carvery meal we have encountered. We will definitely return to enjoy the superb service, great atmosphere and mouth watering food.
Well done to the Lowther!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedness
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We popped in for a Friday night evening meal. We we enjoyed a warm welcome in the bar whilst we looked at the menu. We ordered the bread, oil and olives to share as starter, only to find that they were free anyway, off to a good start I thought. So we had the free starter, a bottle of delicious red, two very large and tasty mains and shared a massive pudding, all for £35. It was well worth the £40, including a tip, we left the very attentive waitress.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lowther Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lowther Hotel

Address: Aire Street, Goole DN14 5QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Goole
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Goole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lowther Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 Star Hotel: The Lowther Hotel, recently restored to its former Georgian glory. The Hotel has 14 deluxe bedrooms, and 2 suites. The hotel caters for all sorts of private and commercial events such as weddings, birthdays, meetings & conferences. within the Lowther we have the famous Burlington Restaurant which served breakfast, lunch & dinner including an early bird menu 7 days a week. The Lounge is a perfect setting for litebite meals & our famous Afternoon Tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lowther Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lowther Hotel Goole, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lowther Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.