We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD VENUE FOR DOGS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capel Manor Gardens

Capel Manor Gardens
Bullsmoor Lane, Enfield EN1 4RQ, England
08456 122 122
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Enfield
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
Rayleigh. Essex UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GOOD VENUE FOR DOGS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I had a nice afternoon wandering around, looking at gardens and getting some good ideas. My dog was welcome,so I didn't have to worry about her and she was even allowed to join us for a cup of tea (but only because she was quiet and kept under the table). We've been many times over the years with our dogs, as it;s a good place to go and not too far away.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    31
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Brilliantly laid out, loads of ideas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Really useful ideas for average UK size gardens. Great ideas for making more of space, examples of using a variety of plants. Generally a good place to have a look at for planting a new garden or sprucing up what you already have.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welling, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The gardens are set out beautifully, it was 'Open Day' and there was lots to see......'Best in show' cow and sheep......some beautiful ponies, best pet competition........not to mention all the jams, preserves and fresh produce all being judged.......a lovely day out!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“A small time Chelsea flower show and what a surprise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

In the town I live we were given a chance to have a free visit to Capel Manor on the 16th June 2012, so having visited the Chelsea flower show this year my wife and I thought we would go and see what this agricultural college had to offer, and wow what a surprise greeted us. The whole thing is excellently laid out and if you are a normal visitor worth the £3.50 entrance fee on a none show day. The whole place is logically laid out with a large number of specimen gardens from all over the world, just like Chelsea and some have been recreated from past winners and there will be an example of a garden from this years Chelsea last this year.Other than this there are fine examples of wall gardens with Victorian conservatoires and a very large set of flower beds all set in the countryside where the students monitor the whole process of flowers and trees etc. If you do take the Children there is also a large maze with a tower to climb in the middle. There a large lake fill with a selection of Koi fish and a working stables with saddle making to visit as well.
In my view and by the view of hundreds of others who attended a place to visit if you in the country visiting London this Olympic year and want something to do not too far from London and Stratford. And lastly there is a place to eat, so look out for the special shows of just go along and have a wonderfully peaceful day in the country.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enfield College Grounds worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is an agricultural college, but is open to the public, and has a fine range of small themed gardens and some animals. A great way to spend your afternoon if you like flowers and plants.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capel Manor Gardens also viewed

 
Enfield, Middlesex
 

Been to Capel Manor Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capel Manor Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.