We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Chace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Chace Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Chace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   162 The Ridgeway, Enfield EN2 8AR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Enfield
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A lovely find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I only stayed one night but had a lovely comfortable stay in this charming friendly hotel. The room was clean and comfortable, the only down side being the duvet was rather thin. I ate in the restaurant and enjoyed a well cooked and well presented meal. The breakfast the next morning was also well presented and plentiful. The staff were very friendly and helpful; I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalChaceHotel, Managing Director at Royal Chace Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Royal Chace Hotel on TripAdviser.

I have taken note of your comment regarding the duvets being thin, we do have and can provide extra blankets as the last thing we want is you being cold overnight especially in the recent cold snaps.


Kind regards

Geoffrey Breese
Managing Director
Royal Chace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    126
    54
    23
    15
See reviews for
76
104
27
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Booked a Saturday night premier package for a total of £170 including (wait for it ...) luxury room with 4 poster bed, whirlpool bath and snug/conservatory lounge area, house champagne and luxury chocs plus inclusive breakfast. I'm a CEO and global business traveller and have stayed in some of the best hotels at hone and abroad.. I have to say that for the money this is one of the best deals ever, The Royal Chace is not the Ritz, but then it's not claiming to be - what it is, is an excellent private hotel offering great accommodation and service for a bargain rate. Apparently the premier 4 poster room we stayed in was recently refurbished so the other standard rooms may not be of a similar standard, but given the general levels of the hotel in general I doubt that very much. Would recommend in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We held a family birthday lunch on 19th January at the Hotel and the service and staff were excellent during our stay that weekend. The staff were very helpful, polite and a credit to the Hotel. Would definitely recommend this establishment to anyone looking to hold a special event or stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Once again this first class hotel helped make our second event here (for our 40th Wedding Anniversary weekend on 8/9th December 2012) a very memorable occasion as they did previously for our daughter's wedding in June 2012.
This beautiful hotel has very comfortable and warm rooms and friendly/efficient staff who made our stay wonderful. We and our guests received excellent service and first class cuisine in The King's Restaurant which was complimented by the wonderful service received from both the restaurant manager and all his staff.Some of our guests own restaurants and were full of praise not only for the restaurant manager and staff but also the high quality of the food prepared by the chef.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool show the splendid view of the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel for over 100 nights over the past 7 years - BUT NEVER AGAIN. The hotel has increasingly geared up for weddings and similar events and the management sees the leisure customer as unimportant. The hotel is particularly noisy at weekends from these events and if you value your sleep then avoid. You will see from other "advisor sites" that numerous comments relate to this - Take Heed.
I discussed our last stay with one of the Directors of the hotel (Pauline [--]) and was appalled by the response - simply didn't want to know about our genuine efforts to provide feedback and she confirmed quite positively that the hotel is not concerned about the leisure traveller.
The other significant change over the past 12 months is that there are now few staff that have English as a first language. Trying to explain issues (and they were numerous on our last visit) became onerous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights visiting family in the area.
Room spotlessly clean. Tea making facilities and tv. Didn't have breakfast but restaurant looked nice. Good location just off m25. Staff that I met were helpful. Went for drink in the bar which was ok. Usual fizzy beers. Unfortunately the draught mulled wine ran out!!
Really would recommend this. £174 for twin room for two nights over Xmas isn't bad. No faults that I could find!( well msybe the view from our room wasn't picturesque but who cares !)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed as a couple for New years eve.

Great location, very friendly staff and a lovely experience overall.

A few niggles however.

Accidentally given the wrong room (Booked Exec. double, given classic double) - however staff were quick to apologise on enquiry and relocate me to correct room.

Also; decided to have breakfast brought up to room at 9.00-9.30am but seems our request was overlooked and had to call to ask where it was at 10am. Food was brought up swiftly thereafter.

Room was advertised as having a Jacuzzi, e-mail confirmed in description but there was none. Queen bed was also two mattresses held together with velcro.

Although a few hiccups, slept fine, room was well decorated, facilities excellent and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enfield
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Enfield
Premier Inn Enfield
#1 of 5 in Enfield
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
1.9 mi away
West Lodge Park Hotel
2.8 mi away
Travelodge London Enfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Theobalds Park Hotel
Theobalds Park Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cheshunt
3.5 of 5 stars 487 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holtwhites Hotel
Holtwhites Hotel
#5 of 5 in Enfield
3.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marriott Cheshunt Hotel
Marriott Cheshunt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Chace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Chace Hotel

Address: 162 The Ridgeway, Enfield EN2 8AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Enfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Enfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Chace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE High Speed Internet, FREE On Site Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Royal Chace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Chace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Chace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.