We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Chace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royal Chace Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Chace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   162 The Ridgeway, Enfield EN2 8AR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Enfield
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed as a couple for New years eve.

Great location, very friendly staff and a lovely experience overall.

A few niggles however.

Accidentally given the wrong room (Booked Exec. double, given classic double) - however staff were quick to apologise on enquiry and relocate me to correct room.

Also; decided to have breakfast brought up to room at 9.00-9.30am but seems our request was overlooked and had to call to ask where it was at 10am. Food was brought up swiftly thereafter.

Room was advertised as having a Jacuzzi, e-mail confirmed in description but there was none. Queen bed was also two mattresses held together with velcro.

Although a few hiccups, slept fine, room was well decorated, facilities excellent and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    93
    45
    19
    11
See reviews for
55
84
24
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just north of Enfield and inside the M25 the hotel has the Traditional English hotel character bur is very modern and well decorated. It is deceptively big hotel with rooms going back down many corridors. Nice quiet country area and beautiful kept gardens. My room was beautiful and quite spacious with a traditional conservatory seating area and a large sunken bath. Very nice. Staff are very friendly and check in and out are smooth. Breakfast is upstairs and is a great traditional Full English or a continental buffet as you choose. Very nice place. Nice for a quiet evening and nice meal. Was there in December and was treated to a beautiful English frosty rolling hills landscape the next morning. Haven't see that for a long time.....Just beautiful Hope to be back if business takes me that way again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great hotel in a very nice part of Enfield. Close enough to Cockfosters tube station for travelling to central London and handy exit to the M25.
The staff are very friendly, nothing is too much trouble. This is the second stay and I would say things have improved for the better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed last night for a wedding, the start to finish was excellent! The reception staff were so helpful & polite on check in & departure. Our room was acceptable but a bit too dark in decor, and we couldn't find the tea/coffee, kettle, but apparently it was there but tucked away in a drawer inside the wardrobe which the staff informed us on our departure. The bed was comfy, room warm and we had a good nights sleep. The hotel was decorated lovely for Christmas. The wedding itself was perfect, the food delicious, and cooked to perfection. It was, prepared and presented beautifully. The wedding staff were fun, polite and constantly there to top up our glasses. The bar prices were quite high, we only live about 15 mins away and could easily have taken a taxi instead but are so glad we stayed over. The bar was open until the small hours for us, so we did spend a lot of money in the 24 hours there. The staff are the hotels biggest asset, not one member was seen to be rude, grumpy which can make such a difference to a persons stay, so nice to be around such a great team. At breakfast this morning, again, big smiles from all involved, a lovely lady who looked after one disabled guest & his friends to eat breakfast downstairs. Breakfast was lovely, lots of choices and nicely laid out. Nothing was too much trouble. Will certainly recommend this as a wedding venue to our friends in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed here recently for a wedding, so I did not select the venue. I imagine that the hotel must get a lot of its business from people staying for events, as I would not have selected this hotel otherwise and certainly have no plans to return.
The double room I stayed in was cramped for two people, especially at the price, and the thin walls meant plenty of noise coming from the adjoining rooms, the corridor and the room above!
Our sleep was also interupted by the fire alarm going off in the middle of the night (not the hotels fault as I understand, but perhaps a consequence of staying somewhere with wedding events).
On the bright side, the breakfast was very nice and included in our rate. Also I was able to settle my bill by Amex, without complaint, so I find the Manager's comments below about not accepting Amex quite strange, unless the policy has changed in the the last month? If Amex is no longer accepted then its another reason not to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We found the Royal Chace Hotel an excellent place to stay. The hotel is clean, safe, with very helpful staff, and beautiful surroundings. The only glitch occurred with trying to use AMEX credit card, had to use VISA. A great place to stay!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalChaceHotel, Managing Director at Royal Chace Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
I was very please to read your review on Trip adviser.

We do not take American Express cards as we could not negotiate commission rates low enough to make it cost effective for us to work with them. I am sorry if it caused you are inconveniance.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write the review.

Kind Regards and have a great Christmas!

Geoffrey Breese
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night in November 2012. My room was warm, clean & comfortable. It was lovely & quiet, overlooking a courtyard. The only thing that it lacked was a clock!

Breakfast was very good, a great choice & waiting staff were very efficient. Would stay again if I needed a hotel in that area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalChaceHotel, Managing Director at Royal Chace Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Royal Chace Hotel on Tripadviser.

A few years back we had radio alarm clocks in every bedroom however with all the rooms now having flat screen LCD Freeview televisions with in built Radios and already providing a morning call service they were seen as being obsolete but when you stay again we have 92 in stores so would be more than happy to provide a clock.

Thank you once again

Kind regards

Geoffrey Breese
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Chace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Chace Hotel

Address: 162 The Ridgeway, Enfield EN2 8AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Enfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Enfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Chace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE High Speed Internet, FREE On Site Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Royal Chace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Chace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Chace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.