We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for the lakeside walk” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aldenham Country Park

Aldenham Country Park
Aldenham Road | Elstree, Hertfordshire, Elstree WD6 3BA, England
0208 953 9602
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Elstree
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Bedfordshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Poor value for the lakeside walk”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We decided to visit the Country Park to enjoy a walk around the lake, and were disappointed that on three sides views of the lake were hidden by trees. Whilst £3.50 may not seem very much for parking, it is an unnecessary expenditure unless you are wanting to visit the farm (which costs an additional fee) or having a picnic. There are far more attractive walks in the area for which you would not need to pay to park. There did not seem to be an awful lot to see in the farm, so we gave it a miss.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    5
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A nice place to spend the day with something for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I took my daughter here. She enjoyed the Winnie the Pooh trail and the farm. It is a really good way to spend the day at a low budget. She really enjoyed the pony ride which I am sure was the highlight for her.

The only negative comment is that some areas need a bit of maintenance. But for the price you pay, it is OK.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radlett, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun day out for all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Well maintained and fun place to visit for all the family or for a stroll around the park and visit the animals

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Loads to do, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We went here on Sunday afternoon. Great day out and very reasonably priced. £3.50 to park, £3 to get into the little farm.

The hundred acre wood is sweet with some good photo opportunities for Winnie he pooh fans. Plenty of places to have a picnic and lovely walks around the lake. Good for dog walking too.

The farm was ok and the tree climbing was worth the extra £5. All of the staff we met were really lovely and we'll definitely be going back, really nice way to spend a sunny day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Care of animals is appalling”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

I visited yesterday as a family, the park & the sights were lovely, however, the animals did not have water & their living conditions were much to be desired. It was 30 degrees yesterday and none of the horses had water, the cows were laying on urine soaked straw & were covered in faeces. The chickens hasn't obviously been cleaned out for weeks & the pigs had no water either, all left out in the sun with no shade. Overall a very disappointing & sad day out.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aldenham Country Park also viewed

Watford, Hertfordshire
Watford, Hertfordshire
 
Knebworth, Hertfordshire
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Aldenham Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aldenham Country Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.