We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No choice and terrible service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kingswell Hotel and Restaurant

Kingswell Hotel and Restaurant
Reading Road | Harwell, Didcot OX11 0LZ, England
01235 833043
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 40 restaurants in Didcot
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Kingswell has a welcoming atmosphere & provides the highest standards of freshly cooked, locally supplied food, drink & effortless service. Located in the beautiful south Oxfordshire countryside only minutes away from Harwell Campus, Abingdon, Wantage, Milton Park & Didcot. We also have 20 fully equipped bedrooms & meeting facilities within our traditional building, parts of which used to be a 16th Century Farmhouse.General informationThe sixteenth century oak-beamed restaurant offers extensive menus, as well as a traditional Sunday Lunch.Luncheon is served between 12 pm and 2 pm Monday to Sunday. Dinner is available between 6.30 pm and 9.30 pm Monday to Saturday and between 7 pm and 9 pm on Sundays.All dishes are freshly prepared in our kitchen, with an emphasis on using local produce. To the best of our knowledge no GM ingredients.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No choice and terrible service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

6 of us went out for a family 40th birthday meal on a Saturday night. We had booked in advance and arrived 15 minutes before 8pm. 2 of the 8 mains were unavailable and I can only describe the service and attitude as the worst ever.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
26rick12, Owner at Kingswell Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Two days, two reviews but my what a difference !!! However we take note of all constructive comments and endeavour to improve quality and service accordingly.
Thank you Ian B from Oxford for taking the time to review the kingswell and of course we are dismayed at your obvious disappointment. You have been very blunt with your feedback to the public, as is your right, but it certainly deserves our right of reply. On our A la Carte selection we have at least 12 options, but occasionally, some sell out due to popularity, however, whenever possible, an alternative is offered. Having trained Chef’s cooking fresh seasonal food rather than heating up frozen pre-processed rubbish has great advantages, but even they can’t anticipate what our Customers will order on the day. The job doesn’t come with a crystal ball ! I would mention, we have Guests who like a specific dish from our Menu and when making their table reservation advise us of their requests. Equally we can also offer ‘specials’ particularly when we have managed to get fresh Lobsters and Crabs etc. so we can surprise customers with something that they weren’t aware of. The comments regarding service are concerning, we strive to offer a friendly, efficient service & we have some of the best ratings/reviews in Oxfordshire for this, but it appears on this occasion we didn’t come up to expectation, for which we apologise. To the Rollright3 of Chipping Norton, thanks for your comments & for returning to the Kingswell for another visit, please tell your friends, we’re not all bad !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    25
    20
    5
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Once again, great food. Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed one night again. Great size room, comfy bed. Great shower!
This time they had real ale on tap, a Patriot Brewery "Nelson" I have googled Patriot and it is a very small award winning brewery, and the Nelson lives up to that.
Food as good, and varied as usual. I opted for the steak. This is a great steak!
Only complaint was the stay was too short!

Will be back and they love children. ( Our 3 yr old )

Noted the last comment, you can get cheaper food, but not like this. You get what you pay for and I think the quality of food is worth more. ( Indeed, I have paid more and had less )

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, ok service... quite expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The food is normally of a pretty good standard here and it's definately not a bad place to eat. However, you can get food elsewhere locally which is just as good and not as expensive.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to eat. Go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just popped in for a lunchtime snack. Warm welcome and efficient. Good choice of restaurant -style food served pleasantly and efficiently with attentive service when needed. Had 3 starters which combined with the basket of special breads on the table (free), made an ample and delicious meal of excellent quality, at a reasonable cost. Excellent white wine and well-kept lager. Iced water jug on table too! In all - we shall return! Food served to other diners looked very appetising too. Thank you.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed here 10th and 11th November, booked a 2 night stay through Secret Escapes. The hotel itself is very attractive with a nice little garden at the front. Our room was pleasantly large, with a lovely bathroom, containing a bath and a seperate shower. I loved the large bed which was extremely comfy, and the room/hotel was always nice and warm. The noise from the A34 was quite loud with the windows open, once they were closed it wasnt to noticable.
We ate in the restaurant on Saturday evening, the food and service were excellent. Just one thing wasnt up to scratch and its almost to petty to mention, only the chips served with the fillet steak didnt match the quallity of the rest of the food. The wine list was extremely good and we celebrated my partners birthday with an excellent bottle of Beaune, a special treat for me also!
Breakfast was very nice, good service and lovely food again, I thought a menu would have been nice, but it wasnt really necessary.
I loved this hotel, had some very mediocre weekends away this year, but this made up for them all. I am definitely looking forward to a return visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingswell Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

Didcot, Oxfordshire
Didcot, Oxfordshire
 
Didcot, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Kingswell Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingswell Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.