We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait for over-priced food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Winding Wheel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Winding Wheel
Carr Wood Road, Castleford WF10 4PS, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 64 Restaurants in Castleford
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: At The Winding Wheel Harvester in Castleford food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Castleford, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Glasshoughton, Ferry Fryston and Whitwood, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Long wait for over-priced food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Visited this restaurant as a birthday treat. Although there were several empty tables we were told the wait was about 20 minutes and after that time we were shown our table - it was one of the tables we saw empty when we first went in. The Waitress was quick in taking the order and in bringing the drink drinks. The salad bar wasn't up to the usual standards of other Harvesters and a couple of the items weren't fresh. We finished the salad and waited and waited and were on the verge of leaving when our food eventually turned up nearly an hour and a half after ordering. No one came to apologise for the delay nor was an apology offered when we paid. Certainly won't be visiting this one again, no-one seemed to care.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Winding Wheel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to a Harvester Restaurant and we will reply to you personally about this.
Best regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    11
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a Shambles”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Frequented the establishment today for a family meal - service slow - salad bar running out of ingredients - and wait for it - took 25 minutes for a drink to be delivered to the table - asking why - human error!!
This place seems to run on the excuse that all that is failing or failed is due to human error - so why is this not addressed - the honesty is that after 3 years frequenting this establishment - with complaints to the higher persons - human error has been the acceptable excuse!

PS - chicken that I ordered was still bleeding - I rest my case!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Winding Wheel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to a Harvester Restaurant and we will reply to you personally about this.
Best regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“OK for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is one of Mitchells & Butlers Harvester pubs. It's OK for the price, bearing in mind the free salad bar. We both had the chicken breast with a baked potato and peas which was OK. The chicken was moist and tasty and at £5.99, including as much salad as you can eat, was good value. The salad bar was well stocked with a good variety of items and gave you something to nibble on whilst the main meal was being prepared. My wife's Tonic Water at £1.35 was about average but I thought my Diet Pepsi at £2.40 was a little expensive. One thing I did like was the calories shown for each dish, good if you are on a diet. The staff were pleasant despite clearly being rushed off their feet.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The Winding Wheel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to our Restaurant.
Best regards
Harvester
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Little let down this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Was a little unhappy this time, the kids meal was fine but myself and my wife's chicken was cold and the corn on the cob was burnt not grilled.. I'm usually really happy with the food but we feel its slipped since the last time we eat here in 2012.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not good.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I took a partner for a business lunch. Not too busy when we arrived but we seemed to have to wait quite a while for our meal. We ordered a serloin steak which was bloody and rare even though we asked for medium. The steak was nearly half gristle so a lot was waste. I ordered a half pint of lager which never arrived. Wont be going to another Harvester. I thought the food was quite substandard for the price, many meals are quick cook and dry. You get a far better deal at a Marstons pub in my opinion.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Winding Wheel also viewed

Castleford, West Yorkshire
Castleford, West Yorkshire
 
Castleford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Winding Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Winding Wheel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.