We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Day out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diggerland

Diggerland
Willowbridge Lane | Whitwood, Castleford WF10 5NW , England
0871 22 77 007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 11 Activities in Castleford
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Diggerland is the Ultimate adventure park experience where children and adults can drive REAL construction machinery. With over 15 rides and drives there’s something for everyone at Diggerland. For the daredevil in you, take a ride on ‘Spindizzy’, unique to Diggerland; prepare to feel the ultimate adrenaline rush on this world famous attraction. Want to get some real JCB experience? Try out your excavating skills on our giant dirt diggers, or drive a monster JCB 3CX. Or you can relax and take in the views, from 50ft in the air on our ‘Skyshuttle’.Diggerland is open weekends and every day during school holidays. Please check website or call for details.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Super Day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We took our 2 children (6 and the youngest's 5th birthday) to Diggerland, staying over the night before in a handy Premier inn locally.

We had an excellent day out. There weren't many people there so we could go on all rides without any real queues. All the staff were friendly and helpful. I noticed that the dads all enjoyed it easily as much as the children.

Worth a day out, we had a great time. Tip - print off a 3 for 2 voucher from vouchercloud.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    92
    31
    18
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Yorks
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Really digging it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Sorry about the corny title!

Went to Diggerland on Saturday with the wife and 3 kids. It was a lot better than I expected and well worth a visit, but I wanted to comment specifically on how pleasant and friendly the (mostly young) staff were. It was an awful, cold and drizzly day and despite this all of the guys we spoke to were really friendly and helpful. If you contrast this with Flamingo Land, where you get more interaction fron the waste bins. Well done!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We took our grandson aged 4 for a birthday treat it was great fun plenty of things to do and we didn't have to queue which makes a change. plenty of seating around the park and picnic benches although the food in the cafe is quite basic, it is reasonably priced and all the usual stuff that children enjoy you can also take food down to the indoor play area.
We found all the staff to be very polite and helpful and got more than our moneys worth in regard of the number of times our family went on the rides.
There is no pressure to buy photos that are taken throughout the rides but we found they were reasonably priced and you can have them put into key rings fridge magnets etc. although we did feel the toys were expensive in the gift shop and got caught out there.
we would definitely go back again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Took my 5 year old son for his birthday treat in early October. He is very into tractors etc so thought would be a great day out for him-did not disappoint! What a great unique day, very hands on. Staff were very friendly. Food was good. Gift shop a bit pricey. Large indoor play area and fun cafeteria area with coin-operated go karts and race track. Top tip - check website before you plan to visit as found only opens weekends at this time of year and looks to be closed from early November until February. Would definitley visit again next year. They also cater for parties.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun for all!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We visited here as a birthday party group. Everyone was so shocked to see how a relatively simple idea could be made so good. This is a great place for everyone big or small to enjoy the wonderful theme park that has been created. All rides are included in the entry fees apart from the dodgems and a few ride ons for the little ones. It was an overcast day when we busted which meant there were very few cues and we managed to go on everything the park had to offer. The indoor play area was great for the tiny ones too. Food was reasonably priced and there was a good variety on offer.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diggerland also viewed

Castleford, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Diggerland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diggerland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.