We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really can't understand the bad reviews!?!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bridge Hotel, Bar & Grill

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Bridge Hotel, Bar & Grill to your Saves list
The Bridge Hotel, Bar & Grill
Altofts Lane | Whitwood, Castleford WF10 5PZ, England (Formerly Bridge Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Castleford B&B and Inns
Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really can't understand the bad reviews!?!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

When I booked The Bridge I was expecting a bog-standard hotel, so it was a nice surprise when I got a much higher standard than I expected. The rooms were clean, warm, quiet and modern and the decor in the main dining area was well thought out with great creative attention to detail. The staff were pretty amazing, I had a warm welcome on arrival from the receptionist and a very friendly and professional service from all the staff throughout my stay. They really did go out of their way to make sure I was happy. Although I didn't eat any evening meals at The Bridge, I can highly recommend their breakfasts. There was a varied choice of hot options, not just your Full English; each one was obviously cooked off fresh using fresh ingredients, no bain maries full of rubbery scrambled eggs in sight; the two I tried were very tasty and well presented. I'm sure the lunch/evening meals are up to the same standard. Great hotel, great staff, great food and great price. Really can't understand the bad reviews!?!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    4
    7
    9
See reviews for
12
11
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My family and I (a party of 8) visited The Bridge Hotel to celebrate Father's Day.

I wouldn't normally write reviews like this, but we all felt that because of the previous reviews these guys really needed some credit and we didn't have much choice.

The food at The Bridge Hotel is excellent, the menu variation and choice rivals many big restaurants and the food is top quality. Most of my party had steak and they were cooked to perfection. My wife and I both had the Roast Beef and cleared our plates.

Particularly in response to the previous reviews re' children. We brought 2 under 1's with us on Father's Day. I was dreading it as they can both be a handful, but I have to say that the staff at The Bridge Hotel really looked after us, both got Peppa Pig colouring sheets, crayons and were offered children's meals with fruit shoots. All the staff spoke to the children and one waiter went out of his way to make them laugh and smile. We were really impressed to be honest.

Considering how many there were of us, and how busy the restaurant was we couldn't pick out anything that we would complain about. The venue was perfect for such big parties, great atmosphere and without doubt great staff.

We will be going back again soon and will be telling everyone how good it is there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

As parents to a 1 yr old and on a tight budget we dont go out for meals a lot. As a treat we booked for an early tea at The Bridge to celebrate fathers day.
The place is very nicely furnished and clean. Our waitress was polite and made our dining experience very enjoyable. The food was also lovely.
We were the ONLY people in the dining area for the duration of our visit. Our 1 yr old did have a walk around during our meal and he was opening and closing a cupboard door just before we were leaving. .. then the barman decided to tell us off for 'not controlling our son'!! We were astounded .. he was in noone's way and wasnt making any mess .. We paid our bill of £55 and said we had been planning to recommend the place to our friends. We wont be now!! Most of our friends have very young children who cant be expected to sit quietly in a highchair for almost 2 hrs.
If i ran a pub\restaurant and there was only 1 table being occupied on a saturday evening i would do all i could to ensure the diners came back and brought others in to the place too!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanStuartM, Front Office Manager at The Bridge Hotel, Bar & Grill, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thanks once more for your feedback and that of your partner for the same visit.

You “argued” your concerns at the venue on the evening of your meal 15/06/2013. We did provide you with feedback at this time but we will now repeat this in this forum for the benefit of future visitors.

First we would just like to thank you for you kind comments about our furnishing, cleanliness, waitress staff and the “lovely” food. We hope that any future guests will take note of these comments when considering us as a venue. We pride ourselves on the quality of our venue and food – This really is great feedback to receive!

We also hope that any future guests will note that the management at The Bridge Hotel, Bar & Grill take child safety very seriously. There is always an assumption on our part that children visiting the venue will be fully supervised by an adult. As such, we do not expect our little guests to be allowed to repeatedly slam cupboard doors or open drawers where steak knives and heavy glass candle holders are stored. Please note that whilst we do not claim to be a “children’s venue” we do cater for children in providing a specific menu and crayons/paper to keep them amused.

We freely admit to politely requesting that you stop your child from slamming our cupboard doors. Please note that the occupancy of the venue at the time was irrelevant. Health and Safety however is paramount.

We do have many families that visit The Bridge week on week with small children. Our Mums and Dads are happy that the venue caters for their family’s needs from baby changing facilities up to food and drink for children. We are always pleased to see these families return and will continue to welcome them in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Castleford hotels

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

So we went for an early fathers day meal tonight as i am away tomorrow. Went with my wife and 1 year old son. The food was great even though my stake was undercooked but no problem. The problem arose after the meal. There are zero facilities for children and the place was dead. However we knew this before we went and thought we would be fine as our 1 year old is quite placid and easily amused. Apart from the young female bar girl who was great and very professional i have to say i was astounded by the rudeness of the other staff! We were told off and accused of not being able to control our child simply because he was opening and closing a cupboard door! He wasn't disturbing anyone else because quite simply put we were the only people in there. We finished our meal, paid the bill and then made a complaint at which point the landlord backed up his barman!!! Suffice to say we wont spend another penny in there!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanStuartM, Front Office Manager at The Bridge Hotel, Bar & Grill, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thanks once more for your feedback and that of your partner for the same visit.

You “argued” your concerns at the venue on the evening of your meal 15/06/2013. We did provide you with feedback at this time but we will now repeat this in this forum for the benefit of future visitors.

First we would just like to thank you for you kind comments about our furnishing, cleanliness, waitress staff and the “lovely” food. We hope that any future guests will take note of these comments when considering us as a venue. We pride ourselves on the quality of our venue and food – This really is great feedback to receive!

We also hope that any future guests will note that the management at The Bridge Hotel, Bar & Grill take child safety very seriously. There is always an assumption on our part that children visiting the venue will be fully supervised by an adult. As such, we do not expect our little guests to be allowed to repeatedly slam cupboard doors or open drawers where steak knives and heavy glass candle holders are stored. Please note that whilst we do not claim to be a “children’s venue” we do cater for children in providing a specific menu and crayons/paper to keep them amused.

We freely admit to politely requesting that you stop your child from slamming our cupboard doors. Please note that the occupancy of the venue at the time was irrelevant. Health and Safety however is paramount.

We do have many families that visit The Bridge week on week with small children. Our Mums and Dads are happy that the venue caters for their family’s needs from baby changing facilities up to food and drink for children. We are always pleased to see these families return and will continue to welcome them in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Me & my parnter on a budget viewed the bridge inn for are wedding venue. Having decided to go ahead and book are wedding here with only 20 weeks to go we had alot to plan. After 10 weeks of us paying them money, writing then cheques we received a letter off the register office saying that THEY HAVE NO WEDDING LICENCE. & We cannot get married at this venue. As u can imagin we was confused so visited jasen at the bridge only to find he was "too busy" to see us. Leaving us waiting 80minutes with only 4 people in the pub (says it all really) for him to approach us in a rude, arrogant, unprofessional manner with a down right bad attitude telling us to "find somewere else to get married"!!!! Staff are RUDE. jasen is RUDE! I wud approach this pub with extreem care and be aware of there bad attitude & how unprofesional they all actually are! Would not return & will carry on telling everyone i speak to, to avoid this pub!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasen S, Owner at The Bridge Hotel, Bar & Grill, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
It was the Bridge that cancelled your wedding as your aggressive and abusive behaviour to members of our staff and your inability to pay monies due on time. It had nothing to do with the Wedding Licence, your bands had not even been placed at the registrars. Yes you were made to wait as we requested you make an appointment but as you ignored this and came to the venue in the middle of service. We are glad we cancelled your wedding as we are now aware of your aggressive nature elsewhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Arrival was fine, room was fine, although a leaky tap. Rooms were nothing special. We booked breakfast, arrived for breakfast with no one in sight! Turns out breakfast wasn't included... Had to go to xscape for breakfast. Would not stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanStuartM, Front Office Manager at The Bridge Hotel, Bar & Grill, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thanks once more for your feedback.

As per email sent to you on 19/05/2013 following your email complaint:

"Your Booking: Please be clear that even though you were offered cereal and toast, I was under no obligation to provide you with breakfast this morning. As I clearly pointed out to you, the room rate booked through the agent Booking.com was on a “room only” rate – Or “No Meal Option”. As you did not pay for breakfast upon check-in (£5.95 per person) nor you did not indicate on your check-in card that you wanted breakfast or with the reception/bar staff last night. It was taken in good faith by the Receptionist that this would not be required”

To Future Guests: Please be clear that bookings made via web agents do NOT include breakfast. If like this customer you are not prepared to pay extra for breakfast, then unfortunately we will not be able to provide this for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Thanks to Alan & all the other staff Including Stu who was the DJ & Quiz Master! We checked in then went off to watch the rugby and came back about 6pm got changed and went into the bar/grill to order some food. Alan greeted us and brought our drinks to the table, we ordered and got a very large Club sandwich, it had a grilled chicken breast, bacon & tomato and I said to Alan that the only problem was that my husbands mouth wasn't big enough to get it all in as it was a triple decker!! We were looked after by the bar man as he came just at the right time to see if we wanted more drinks and brought them over. Stu was the Quiz master on Sun night and although there were only 2 of us in our team we came second!!! Lovely room, all areas were clean & tidy. Breakfast was yummy, I only wish we had stayed another night so as I could try more breakfast dishes. All round lovely people & great attention for a VERY reasonable price. Politeness & courtesy & attentiveness & help - excellent! We will stay there again. Thanks Alan & staff. xx

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlanStuartM, Front Office Manager at The Bridge Hotel, Bar & Grill, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thanks for your detailed feedback.

It is always a pleasure to serve customers who not only value our accommodation and facilities but who also bring out the best in us as a team.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to experience what we have to offer and that you enjoyed the food enough to offer a genuine review.

Thank you for your recommendation and we hope you are able to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bridge Hotel, Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bridge Hotel, Bar & Grill

Address: Altofts Lane | Whitwood, Castleford WF10 5PZ, England (Formerly Bridge Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Castleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Castleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bridge Hotel, Bar & Grill has recently undergone major changes, with a new management team, modern grill menu and 16 newly decorated bedrooms.The Bridge Hotel, Bar & Grill prides itself on the customer service in which it provides to all guests. Located just off Junction 31 of the M62 motorway, guests are within easy reach to explore not only Wakefield but the rest of Yorkshire. Our nearest attractions are the fantastic Xscape Yorkshire for the more adventurous and Junction 32 Outlet Shopping Village for a great shopping experience. All bedrooms at The Bridge Hotel, Bar & Grill are equipped with a private bath or shower, Digital TV and high speed wireless internet access. In addition, The Bridge Hotel, Bar & Grill provides an eclectic grill menu based around carefully sourced quality ingredients together with an innovative wine list and local ale.For conference and event booking, The Bridge Hotel, Bar & Grill offers a 100 capacity function venue with wedding licence and separate bar area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your The Bridge Hotel, Bar & Grill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Castleford
The Bridge Hotel, Bar & Grill Castleford, West Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bridge Hotel, Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.