We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good good in good surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shajan

Shajan
Longsight Road, Clayton-le-Dale, Blackburn BB1 9EX, England
01254813640
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 165 Restaurants in Blackburn
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night
Darwen
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good good in good surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Visited on a typical busy Saturday evening, the bar was busy but we found a table and the waitress service was prompt and pleasant.
Despite the busy might we were shown to our table on time which was in a light and airy area of the large dining area.
The service was good, although one of our drinks was missing and was finally delivered on the third request.
The food was good, not exceptional, but everyone enjoyed their dish. The service was generally good and the prices reasonable.
We would go again but probably not the venue for a relaxing meal out!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    68
    30
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food but very noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Our first visit having read the mixed reviews on Tripadvisor.
Lots of parking spaces and lovely eternal water feature.
We were promptly taken to our pre-booked table and felt a little rushed in placing our order.
We have never been in such a large Indian restaurant with so many people eating and the noise level from people talking was very high. At times we had difficulty having a conversation.
If there was background music, we could not hear it.
The food was good and the staff were efficient and polite.
However, if you like a relaxed meal without feeling rushed and in a cosy atmosphere where you can chat over your meal, then the Shajan may not be for you

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Incompetent customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Only just finished being insulted by the customer service? Having ordered takeaway online my daughters boyfriend went to collect on returning couple of items not right chips missing and one of the naans stone cold and rubbery. Phoned to let them know no apology no it was our fault for not checking the order at the counter and our fault for them getting our order wrong. There attitude was disgusting Sharrif ? Was his name we would have gladly accepted a Sorry or we will send a £5 voucher through the post . My wife phoned back and was told my daughter was rude and aggressive whilst she was sat in our lounge with all our guests present so not only is there customer service a disgrace but they tell bare faced lies
In the last 12 months we have spent close to £2000 at this restaurant well no more I will take my custom elsewhere we will wait to see if this report is acted on if not the owner who is always asking my daughter who phoned to be his second wife ( jokingly) will be contacted. A simple sorry for our mistake would have satisfied for the moment I would stay well clear until they learn good manners and the simple basics of customer service Cost of takeaway over £40

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Cold food, rude staff, would never return”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Went to the shajan for the first time in months after a previous poor experience; this was the worst experience of all.

Ordered a takeaway of which I picked up, when picked up the fella reels off the food to confirm it is my order, which I confirmed it was. When I got home the food was stone cold and they forgot the portion of chips. We called the restaurant and spoke to the worst "manager" we've ever had the displeasure of speaking to. Not once did we get an apology, we were told to comeback in for the chips, no mention of the cold food, and when we advised that the rest if the food would be cold if we now left to comeback, we were told there's nothin they can do then, advised it's not good enough and they said "don't come back then" and hung up.

We paid over £40 for a meal and would've expected at least a drop of customer service; it shouldn't be our responsibility to check the box when picking up, it is the takeaways responsibility to ensure their customers get the correct order.

We are now out of pocket, shocking restaurant; do not waste your time or money on these scammers. Civil action being taken.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Visited on a busy Saturday with my daughter , we had not booked but we were shown to a table and served very quickly . The food was wonderful Fish Johl went down a treat and the coffees are refilled free, great atmosphere and very good value, staff polite and efficient. WELL WORTH A VISIT.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shajan also viewed

 

Been to Shajan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shajan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.