We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shajan

Shajan
Longsight Road | Clayton-Le-Dale, Blackburn BB1 9EX, England
01254 813234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 170 Restaurants in Blackburn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We offer authentic, quality Indian Cuisine in Blackburn, Lancashire. Established in 1992 we have an unrivaled reputation for both quality and customer care. Whether you're looking for a venue for your next special occasion or quality Indian food - you'll always find a fast, friendly service waiting for you.Set in the picturesque Ribble Valley the Shajan is an award-winning restaurant. It started off as a small business holding only 96 customers. However its popularity lead to its gradual expansion over the years and it is now able to accommodate up to 205 customers. The restaurant itself is split into 3 rooms enabling it to cater for private parties and large functions without losing its intimacy or atmosphere. Its modern decor, luxurious setting and spacious car park have attracted a wide range of customers including celebrities, some of which arrive in helicopters. The chefs' come from all over South Asia, so the restaurant is able to offer a varied cuisine, and the large number of regular South Asian customers is a testament to the foods authenticity. We believe the restaurant's reputation is our best accolade as it is built purely on word of mouth. The Shajan's emphasis on quality, customer service and above all its continual drive for improvement, have all lead to its success.
Mellor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Simply the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The food is excellent. The service is amazing - the waiters are attentive, friendly and polite. Mr Shah is so kind. We go often and my daughter has had meals with her friends on her own, totally safe enviornment.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    74
    38
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Great food, Great venue and a good place to see footballers and the famous dinning out

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We often cal in at this restaurant when travelling home from Preston and we have never been dissapointed. I have seen some previous reviews which are critical o fthe choice of food and of hygiene standards, we definately don't agree. It is true that this is a very busy and bustling resaurant so if you are looking for a quiet get away its not for you but we like the atmosphere. The waiters are polite and very attentive and the portions of food are generous and very tasty. All in all definately 5 star Asian cuisine

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lovely food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I was recommended to this restaurant on a brief business visit to the area. As it was a Monday night I didn't bother making a reservation. Luckily they found us a table! The place was busy, busy, busy but the host was extremely polite and friendly and got us sorted straight away.
The food was delicious. I asked for a Jalfrezi but not to be too hot, my friend for a Bhuna but a bit hotter than their medium description. Both were perfectly done, very tasty - thank you!
The key test is the next morning when you usually find that a sub-standard meal where too much salt is used, results in a dry, sticky mouth when you wake up. No issue here - it is obvious that the chef uses quality ingredients to rely on for flavour.
Not sure when I will get the chance to go back to the area but know where I am going to eat when I do!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Can't fault it, staff great, food excellent. Owners hands on and know how to run a busy restaurant. We have family and friends who travel miles to go to Shajans.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shajan also viewed

 

Been to Shajan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shajan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.