We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millstone at Mellor

Save Saved
You added Millstone at Mellor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Millstone at Mellor
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Lane, Blackburn BB2 7JR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Blackburn
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quality stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

From the warm telephone booking by Sarah to the checkout this was a lovely weekend stay- food excellent , cask ale spot on, and stocked my wife's favourite wine (southern lights) nice to see Anson chef /patron visible, and chatting with guests. Room lovely,cosy and comfortable and nothing too much trouble for any of the staff, would go again anytime. Original booking cancelled due to bereavement but no money lost as booking held by Sarah.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    66
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
111
8
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Nice clean room, lovely food and great service from all the staff. Great value for money as we had a special deal for a March stay. Not too sure I would pay full rate for an overnight stay however would definitely come back here again on a similar offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Visited with the family, one starter wasnt up to the normally high standards. We had a starter of scalllops and uneven sizes but more disappointing to feel grit for the first time. everything else was to the normal high standard, just need to be carefull with the finer details.

Wont stop us returning as they have been so consistant over the last few years.
Service as always was unobtrusive and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback. I apologise for the grit and the size of the Scallops, we only use fresh Scallops and as a result their sizes do tend to vary. We've also changed the Scallop offering on our new Inn season and now offer the Scallop with a spring onion and Smoked Haddock risotto, which is proving very popular.

I thank you for understanding and look forward to welcoming you back to the Millstone in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at The Millstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We turned up at 2.30 for a pub lunch. Service was exemplary, the staff are friendly witth out being unctous, nothing too rushed or worse too slow. It was no problem that we just wanted sandwiches. Wine by the glass better than average, and that avis rara a real crumbly Lancashire cheese.

£40 for 4 substantial sandwiches, and a glass of wine each.

We will return, such a refreshing change from normal pub fare

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were in this area for a wedding and needed somewhere to stay for 2 nights. A web search suggested that the Millstone was OK so we booked for a Friday and Saturday. I didn't know the area at all and Mellor is a small village on a hill with a few shops. Our welcome at the Millstone was efficient and friendly and our room was warm, comfortable and well equipped. The bathroom looked recently refitted. Everything was very clean. There were a rew things that needed maintenance - TV remote worked erratically (battery flat), the famous Corby trouser press (whichI love) had a broken knob so couldn't be used, the bathroom door didn't close completely (dropped hinge), similarly the wardrobe hinges needed attention. Some might say that I should have raised these items with the management but I don't think as a guest it is my job to check the quality of maintenance. I would of course report anything that occurred during our stay (e.g. light bulb etc). However none of these niggles affected our stay which we enjoyed.
The restaurant menu was varied with some specials and we thought the quality was very good. We only ate on one night as we out for the next but when we returned the restaurant was very busy and looked full. These were largely not residents which reinforces the quality of the food as they are able to attract diners from a wide area (they couldn't have all come fron Mellor - it's to small!). Overall if you need to stay in this area we would recommend the Millstone for a comfortable room at a reasonable rate and very good food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Many thanks for your feedback. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologise for the maintenance mishaps and thank you for bringing them to our attention, we have since actioned the issues raised.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron, and all the team at The Millstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Been going to the Millstone for around 6 years. I have probably eaten here over 100 times and not one of them meals I can fault. Always excellent food and service. The staff are always attentive and serve the food with a great level or pride. Staff are always great and make sure your experience here is always a great one. Not a better English restaurant around 10/10!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inns_0f_Character, Anson Bolton - Manager at Millstone at Mellor, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments it's always nice to know when we get things right and it is extra pleasing to know that we are consistent. Our New Spring Menu starts very soon so hopefully we will see you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Anson Bolton - Chef Patron and all the team at The Millstone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESTERFIELD
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was the 2nd time that we stayed here. First time on a B&B basis, this time on DB&B basis. We checked in about 6.15pm. Staff very polite and friendly. Noticed straight away that we were staying on DB&B rate and asked us what time would we like our table to be reserved for that evening. Also asked if we would like a newspaper the next morning which was nice.Our room was clean and warm with everything we needed. We had no complaints about anything. When we went for our meal our table was ready and waiting even though it was very busy. Asked if there was any restrictions on what we could have off the menu, the only thing was a small supplement if we had filet steak, otherwise we could have what we wanted. All our 3 courses were beautiful, well cooked and service was excellent. after an excellent meal we went back to our room. We both had a good nights sleep and overlaid slightly!! (We declined a wake up call). We had a lovely breakfast, which again was well cooked and served. All the staff were all friendly and polite and nothing seemed to much trouble for them. Check out was quick and easy with no problems. Overall we really enjoyed our stay again and found it to be good value by booking Dinner Bed and Breakfast. We would love to stay for a third time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Millstone at Mellor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstone at Mellor

Address: Church Lane, Blackburn BB2 7JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackburn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Blackburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Millstone at Mellor 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millstone has retained all the charm of the coaching inn it once was - but added all the creature comforts of a modern hotel. It is one of the highest rated AA 2 star hotels in the country and has been awarded 2 AA food rosettes. The Millstone at Mellor, Blackburn is easy to reach from the M6 or M65. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Millstone at Mellor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstone At Mellor Hotel Blackburn
Millstone Hotel Mellor
Millstone At Mellor Blackburn, Lancashire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millstone at Mellor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.