We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calypso Caribbean Restaurant

Calypso Caribbean Restaurant
The Wharf, Eanam, Blackburn BB1 5BY, England
01254 261020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 170 Restaurants in Blackburn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Blackburn
1 review
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I'd heard good reviews from friends who had visited previously, so wanted to try it for myself. I went for a meal with the parents and wasn't disappointed. The food was flavoursome and the chicken I had was marinated perfectly. We were definitely made to feel very welcome and even had a chat with the owner, Dave, who was a very pleasant chap. Will be making a return visit hopefully in the near future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calypsocaribbean, Owner at Calypso Caribbean Restaurant, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review Calypso and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    49
    19
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“food heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Came here last night (16th) to celebrate my friends birthday having been here before, i was expecting a good evening....what we got was pure excellence
The staff are very welcoming the music sets the tone for the evening and the food stunning and very tasty
the licencee was a total star staying open until we left late
thank you so much for a great night we really enjoyed it :-)
Joe

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calypsocaribbean, Manager at Calypso Caribbean Restaurant, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it was a pleasure having your custom and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“fantastic night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Made really welcome on arrival, food was brilliant, great value, lovely atmosphere, will be returning soon

(The platter and the goat curry was unbelievable, never tasted anything so good!)

Thanks to all at Calypso

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calypsocaribbean, Owner at Calypso Caribbean Restaurant, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit to Calypso and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pleasure on a plate !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Myself and my husband decided to try calypso after a friends recommendation to us on how how good it was, we were not disappointed! From walking in being greeted by friendly staff to the excellent menu was in total a wonderful evening, I chose the platter for 1 and my husband opted for the Caribbean lamb shank, both dishes were fantasic the platter had a little bit of everything on including curry which was delicious, the lamb shank was succulent and fell off the bone it had been marinated in Caribbean spices that my other half is still talking about! I would recommend this place to anyone and such good value for money we will definitely be going back to try the rest of the mouthwatering menu

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calypsocaribbean, Owner at Calypso Caribbean Restaurant, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Calypso and we were happy to learn you had enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely awful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Me and my boyfriend fancied a change as we both like spicy food we thought we'd give it a try. when we got there the woman seating us was dressed in jeans and a jumper and very non proffessional way about her. it seemed she was more interested in standing talking to her family in the corner of the restraunt (the only other customers at the time of our visit) than serving us and being polite to us. We went at around 1pm and it was just us and the other 4 people there at the time.

I ordered chicken for both main and starter, both times it was very overcooked, seemed like it had been in a deep fat fryer for a long time. In 2 pieces of chicken I found long hairs so that put me off. The rice and peas were extremely over seasoned and the fragrance coming off them was overpowering, it was seasoned with what tasted exactly like the small tub of 'tescos own' mixed herbs 'very carribean!' I also had a bowl of curry sauce with the meal which was disgusting and tasted like something i could buy from a chippy but again overseasoned and very greasy!

When we asked for the bill, the woman did not bring us our change, we waited for ten minutes, i can only assume she thought it was a tip!

I am not normally a critical person but this is by far the worst meal I have ever eaten.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calypsocaribbean, Owner at Calypso Caribbean Restaurant, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are sorry that you were disappointed with your visit to Calypso however as your visit was 7 months ago it is not possible to investigate the issues you raised. However if any of our customers are unhappy with the service or food and they make it known to the staff at the time of their visit we will be only too happy to fully investigate the concerns raised. We would like to make clear that during the day we serve pub lunches in the pub section of the building which is not waitress/waiter service and the menu available, although containing Caribbean items is not the same menu that is served at night in the restaurant which is waiter/waitress service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calypso Caribbean Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Calypso Caribbean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calypso Caribbean Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.