We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served a purpose” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fernhurst Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fernhurst Lodge to your Saves list
Fernhurst Lodge
466 Bolton Road, Blackburn BB2 4JP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Blackburn
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Served a purpose”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Booked this hotel last minute as we had tickets to go and see Jason Manford and needed a place to stay overnight. Hotel would be fine other than the fact it is across the road to Ewood Park. I had been to the pub in previous years when they were in the premiership but had not realised what it was called or that they had a lodge attached! I was a little disappointed when I realised that Blackburn were at home that day which always means crowds of football fans. Luckily for us we arrived at 15.15 so crowds were already at the stadium. The rear car park is for the lodge which was heaving but we did manage to squeeze into the last tiny space. The car park at the front of the lodge/bar was full as they used it for match day parking which never happened when they were in the premiership. If you are staying here when there is a match on make sure you plan your arrival times to miss the crowds.
Now for the hotel, all in all it was pretty basic, but clean and comfortable enough for what we paid. We normally use Premier Inn's for 1/2 night stopovers but was already booked. I would have to say that they appear to have based their style on them but it feels outdated. The window in the room would not open so by morning it felt stuffy. Doors slammed shut no slow closers on them. Bathroom was a tight squeeze but ok.
You do need to ensure you get a token to get out of the car park, receptionist did not tell us this and there was no one on reception when we were leaving, luckily a member of the bar staff was arriving and passed us a token to get out.
If like us you are just visiting Blackburn to go into the town centre, bus stop is on the main road, £2.00 into town which dropped us off in the town centre within a few minutes and it was easy enough to catch the bus back from the bus station so at least you can have a couple of drinks whilst you are out.
All in all stay was fine, we did not eat/drink at the pub so can not comment. The lodge served it's purpose but would not want to stay longer than the one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    30
    16
    16
    12
See reviews for
16
28
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at The Fernhurst Lodge for a week for business purposes, after moving from a nearby hotel last minute that was totally unsanitary. The Fernhurst was warm and welcoming from start to finish. The rooms (and everywhere else) were beautifully cleaned and spacious. In a very central location but perfectly quiet at night. Security is good in the hotel and there is free parking. The restaurant served good food, and quickly! A great variety and range of choices and tasty!
I cannot commend all the staff highly enough, in the restaurant and hotel alike. They were so welcoming, friendly, efficient, polite, helpful and informative about the region (of which I was a stranger) and went above and beyond the call of duty numerous times for me throughout the week, at all hours of the day with a smile on their faces. Many thanks to all at The Fernhurst Lodge. Highly recommend this place for it's exceptional value. It's simple but superbly done and perfect for business trips and short stays.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

First class service, would thoroughly recommend this hotel, they came back as the cheapest in the area for a business trip, with good facilities, I spoke to 3 members of staff whilst there and they were all very friendly helpful, and it had also had free parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed over to see family, rooms look the part, cleaners need to pay more attention to detail, as there was a drink spill from a previous occupant and the white bath Matt had black marks on it. The rooms are great, bathrooms could do with an update, all in all not a bad place to stay, think they should think of including breakfast in the price of the stay £50.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West Britain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Basically you get what you pay for! Bit like an outdated premier inn style which needs some tlc. Taps and fittings not ver clean, decor needs an update. No soft closers on doors so noisy at night time. Reception not always manned but can go to pub for staff. Token required for barrier to get in car park which reception staff never seem to have any of so you have to wait whilst they go to pub? Surely a simple calculation of how many cars are in car park would allow them to have enough tokens behind desk and not keep customers waiting? On the plus side its a very good location for Ewood park and the restaurant next door is excellent value for both food and drinks. A little more attention to detail in the hotel and they would have a winning formula! Nothing nearby to challenge it though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have visited the restaurant of this hotel on previous occasions but had decided not to return. However, I heard that it had a new manager so decided to give it another try. This is part of the "Hungry Horse" franchise/chain.

On entering and looking around to see what I had to do, I wwas immediately approached bu a staff member who asked if she could help and explained the set up to me. Thee bar staff were pleasant and helpful and my meal arrived at my table in good time. They have a quite a large and not too expensive menu. As a vegetarian, I felt that my choices were a little limited I was pleased with my meal of Cheese and onion and potato pie, served with peas, chips and vegetarian gravy. The portion size was good and very tasty indeed. When I went to order another drink and to sit in the bar section, I found myself chatting to Neil, the new manager who has had previously managed a very successful small hotel and restaurant in Yorkshire where I had previously stayed on a couple of occasions. Clearly Neil intends to make as good a job with this hotel as he did in the previous one - and he deserves to be successful

Room Tip: I did not stay in the hotel, I was staying with friends who lived nearby. If the restaurant is aaa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed at the Fernhurst at the end of July on a business trip and for a one night stay it was perfectly fine.

The double room was spacious with all of the expected amenities; tea & coffee making facilities, hair dryer, TV etc.

The hotel is attached to a 'hungry horse' restaurant so there is a wide range in the eating department.

All in all, it's nothing spectacular or fancy but if you're planning on a short stay then this place will do the job.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fernhurst Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhurst Lodge

Address: 466 Bolton Road, Blackburn BB2 4JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Blackburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 3 minutes from M65 Junction 4, The Fernhurst is perfectly situated for business meetings, celebrations or as a base to discover the East Lancashire region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Fernhurst Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernhurst Arms Hotel Blackburn
Fernhurst Lodge Blackburn, Lancashire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fernhurst Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.