We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rag Country Inn

The Rag Country Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cannock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Rag Country Inn
Ironstone Road | Rawnsley, Cannock WS12 0QD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Cannock B&B and Inns
Burnley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was attending the Armed Forces Day at the Arboretum in Alrewas on Saturday 28th June. An associate had booked 11 of us in to the Rag Inn for an overnight stay. One of our party lives nearby in Rugeley and it was on his recommendation that we stayed there. What a fantastic place! I had a double room to myself overlooking fields and a wooded area. The room was spotless, with the usual tea/coffee facilities, TV and FRESH FRUIT. The en-suite had one of the best showers I have used for a long time, very powerful and loads of hot water. All of the rooms are situated on the first floor which might be a problem for anyone with a disability.
We all dined in the restaurant and had mostly different meals. I chose the corned beef hash starter (not as plain as it sounds) with croutons and a tasty sauce. For my main course I had the stuffed chicken breast with vegetables & roast potatoes. I declined the pudding as I was totally full by this time. The service was impeccable, all the meals were ready for our table simultaneously. I am not a big beer drinker but there were several cask ales on offer and perhaps 3 or 4 Lagers.
The pub is obviously a favourite with the locals, has outdoor seating and offers barbecues at the weekend. Should it rain on those days, a large marquee, which is a permanent fixture, provides adequate shelter.
I would highly recommend this pub to anyone who visits the area, it is delightful!

Room Tip: Because the pub is situated in a quiet area it doesn't matter which room you choose, a good nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a delight! We found the Rag on the net and took a chance. It is comfortable, welcoming and the food is just superb. We were sorry that we could only stay for two nights, moving on for the third. Everyone was very friendly, and efficient. We have never had the option of "Full" and "Half" English breakfast, a lovely idea. The evening two course meal for two deal was exceptional value, with a good variety. We will come again and recommend The Rag to friends. Thank you Stephanie and Michael

Room Tip: Our room was over the kitchens, so a bit noisy in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRagRawnsley, Owner at The Rag Country Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello MarionKeithPassat

We're so glad that you took a chance on The Rag, and had a great stay with us. We hope to see you again when you're next in the area - we're a good base for seeing the many sights of Staffordshire!

All the best,

Stephanie and Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

What a great place, great people great accommodation and wonderful food! Would recommend this to business users over the usual plastic and glass offerings from the larger chains. Definitely worth a visit and without a recommendation from our hist we would never have given it a thought.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRagRawnsley, General Manager at The Rag Country Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hi Richard

Thank you for a lovely review - it's nice to be recognised over and above the "cheap as chips" chain hotels. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We booked the Rag on the reccomendation of others. It cost £75 for the night and our room was comfortable and clean with a few nice touches like the fruit bowl. We ate dinner in the restaurant and it was really lovely. Great choice, reasonable prices, lovely friendly staff and tasty food, try the duck fritter, delicious. Breakfast the next morning was equally as good.
A couple of points that prevent an excellent. Bear in mind your staying at a very nice b and b and hotel services you might anticipate aren't on tap so take a couple of home comforts with you if you can't do without them. Also the wifi is temperamental, I'm not sure if it is switched off at night, if it is, it's a shame. Total bill £130 so not cheap but dinner and breakfast balanced it out nicely.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRagRawnsley, General Manager at The Rag Country Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hi Paulie

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're pleased that you had a good time and that the accommodation and food met your needs. We apologise for the WiFi signal - it can be intermittent, given our rural location.

We hope to see you again in the future.

The Rag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I could find absolutely no fault with The Rag. Friendly staff, lovely food, very comfortable homely room. The best shower I've ever used at a b&b. An extra heater in the bedroom should you need it when the central heating is off. Very comfortable clean bed.
At £75 per night I think this room was very good value for money - at The Rag you definitely get what you pay for!

Room Tip: Our room was above the kitchen (room 4 I think) and a 'quiet night in' would not be possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRagRawnsley, General Manager at The Rag Country Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your review Skinnywitch, and we're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with colleagues from Germany and Holland who thought it was superb. Will be back again in October. The breakfast is cooked to perfection. The evening meal is better than most good restaurants. The staff are friendly as are the locals . Don't forget to take a pound coin for the jukebox that plays 45s

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRagRawnsley, General Manager at The Rag Country Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
What a lovely review - thank you! it's fair to say the the jukebox has become something of a talking point in the bar!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We visited Cannock and Lichfield for a nostalgic trick. When we booked on line, we were looking for something simple and inexpensive, to eat and lay our heads for the night, while we made our day trips out. This Inn has a great welcome, extremely attentive service and a friendly atmospher. The food is high quality and the rooms are clean, high standard and very comfortable. And when the bill came at the end it was very reasonable and good value for money. Thank you for a memorable stay

Peter and Hilary Harborow

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Rag Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rag Country Inn

Address: Ironstone Road | Rawnsley, Cannock WS12 0QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Cannock
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cannock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rag Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Rag Country Inn to your Saves list