We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appetite well satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of OK Diner

OK Diner
A5 | Bridgetown, Cannock, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 84 Restaurants in Cannock
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: One of a chain
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Appetite well satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A friend and eye went here for the first time today. The visit got off to a frustrating start when we were told there would be a delay in being shown to a table. In the end, the wait was probably 10 to 15 minutes, which was not too bad, but then found the delay was not due to the Diner being full but a lack of staff to serve table.
However, once shown to a table, everything else about the visit was very enjoyable. The decor and background music conjured up the image of the 50's American diner as portayed in many films. Our food and drink order was soon taken and the garlic bread starter plus drinks followed shortly.
Our mains of the Breakfast Burger and the BBQ Pork Burritos were well cooked, tasty and a good sized serving. Each member of the serving team who came to our table were efficient, pleasant and helpful. Overall, this was a very enjoable no frills meal and I would happily return for another visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    31
    26
    15
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Oh dear...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Maybe it was the time of year. Or the time of day. Or the day of the week. But this was a big disappointment for lunch on the Sunday after Christmas.

Having turned off the M6 at about 1.30 because of the traffic and gone down the A5, we thought the OK Diner would be an interesting place to stop with the kids. The place was full and we had to wait for a table. At least I think we were waiting for a table, because nobody asked us if we wanted one - we just sat there and read the papers for 20 minutes. Then we were shown to a table, given menus and made to wait for another 20 minutes. We were served food - but no cutlery or napkins. When we got those, we discovered the food really wasn't much good. The burger was burnt. Even the bun was burnt. The "Big" Caesar salad was in a big bowl but there wasn't much salad. And the fried chicken tasted like the oil had been used too many times.

When we finished the place was half empty but service was still appalling. Despite all the signs saying "pay at your table" I had to go to the counter and shout to get somebody to come and take money from me.

It could be that this was just a one-off poor day at the OK. Or it could just be crap.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of our favourite places to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My family and I have visited this diner 4 or 5 times and we really enjoy it. From the retro environment and decor to the hamburgers and shakes, we do not mind paying an extra bit for a good meal and experience.
The staff was very nice and checked on us several times.
The only bad thing is that the hot dog sausage was not grilled but microwaved, not very nice. We will stick to hamburgers.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“YUMMY :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

It has become a tradition to visit the OK Diner at Cannock on our way home from trips to Wales. Service is always very quick and polite. The food is cooked to perfection and always full of flavour. Even my picky son will eat their burgers! Kids eat free with a full price adults meal so very reasonable meal option.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre Diner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We went last night to the OK Diner in Cannock...what to say. Nearly £3 for a coke float, VERY small portions for the price (luckily it was £5 burgers!) And Desert...Pankcakes with a choice of Syrup or fruit with Cream or Ice Cream?! The Menu is worded so It reads Pancakes WITH Syrup and a topping...I had to pay extra for the syrup in the end!
When it came to billing, they missed a burger off the bill and added an ice cream desert on instead. No tip left and I wouldn't go back...especially

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OK Diner also viewed

Stamford, Lincolnshire
Derby, Derbyshire
 
Colsterworth, Grantham
Darlington, County Durham
 

Been to OK Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OK Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.