We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food but bit pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of OK Diner

OK Diner
A5 | Bridgetown, Cannock, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 84 restaurants in Cannock
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: One of a chain
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good food but bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

good american style foods but the price of some items are astronomical

if the prices were more average i would use there more often

great offer how kids eat free but they always want the almost £4 milkshakes

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

53% Recommend
    25
    22
    18
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“you get what you pay for. and my god do you pay for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

firstly if you have never been to this place, i advise you to do so for the experience if nothing else. its a really interesting place and you will be like a child admiring all the memorabilia and taken aback by how much it does conform to our stereotypical view of a 40s/ 50s american diner.
their menu is authentic american. and what a menu it is.
there's one thing about this place that will strike you as odd. the prices. everything is very expensive. i believe the gourmet burger co is cheaper, but i know where i choose every time. there's no contest.this place an an absolute gem and i travel 25miles round trip to eat here.
the burgers and hot dogs are MOSSIVE and the taste is out of this world. the shakes are delicious and i havent been to place that serves better. even the coke tastes nicer in this place.

basically if you want a meal on the cheap go to mcdonalds. you will enjoy a cheaper meal at a toby carvery or sizzling pub. but if you dont mind going and paying 20 - 25 per head for 3 courses and drinks for sensational food and a dining experience to remember, get you shoes on and drive there. now. and pick me up on the way.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Its not bad but really it's only ok.
Service is a bit slow so if u are in a hurry give it a miss.
Food is nice and not to expensive.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A complete joke!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

have been to this restaurant on two occasions.putting the first bad experience down to how busy the place was,my partner and myself decided to try again.place was half full when we arrived and we were seated to the opposite side to everyone else,where they were having a staff meeting.this didnt bother me in the slightest,nice to hear the managers setting out standards of service for the staff.only problem was;the waitress having just been told bout good service standards,took our drinks order and then proceeded to SLAM them on the table without a word to us and continued on her way!the staff meeting had broken up by now and we could see the manager searching ebay on her laptop to the side of us.we were then left waiting abput 10-15mins and the manager then shouted over to us,from her table,have you ordered yet guys?when we replied no she said shed be with us in a moment.she then wandered over and took our order.food that came was lovely and just upto the standard we'd had in america.we did not recieve a follow up for the whole time we were there,although we did get acknowledged by the off duty staff who were hanging around in the kitchen when i went to ask for a refill.the waitress again slammed the drinks on the tanle and went on her way to chat to he coworkers.on finishing our meals,i went to the counter to say we would like the bill and to speak to the manager on duty when she had a moment.when both arrived,we explained how awful our experience had been and that it had not been the first time.the manager apologised and said they were busy with the other half of the diner!said im sorry but that is not my understanding when you can be seen scouring ebay and all the staff are standing in the kitchen.im sorry but i will not be returning here again.to this she said she was sorry and what could she do to change my mind?replied nothing really as the whole experience has been ruined.she then stood there for 20mins arguing with me that i should tell her how to get my custom back!!!!im sorry your the manager make a decision.in the end my partner suggested she give us some discount,which she did.ive never been so horrified and neither will i return.an absolute joke from start to finish!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interesting decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I have passed it often & so we called in & it was interesting - the waiter was efficient, food was better than most fast food & the 'hot chocolate brownie sundae was good .... a pleasant enough meal in a more interesting fast food place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OK Diner also viewed

Derby, Derbyshire
Cannock, Staffordshire
 
Cannock, Staffordshire
Cannock, Staffordshire
 

Been to OK Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage OK Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.