We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas 2013 - one of the best for many years” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Beach House Hotel to your Saves list
Beach House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marine Drive | Bude, Widemouth Bay, Bude EX23 0AW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Widemouth Bay
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Christmas 2013 - one of the best for many years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here from Christmas Eve to Boxing Day 2013, having found it quite late in the day, almost by accident on Lastminute.com. Not knowing much about it, and seeing the various photos of what appears to be a rather uninviting exterior, we were a little apprehensive. To make matters worse the weather predictions for the Bude area were looking somewhat dire. To offset this Beth’s encouraging phone calls and emails helped to allay our fears.

As it happened we need not have worried, apart from 3 sunny days, the welcome we received; the warm and cosy atmosphere; the fantastic food (the Christmas Day lunch was simply amazing!); the comfortable beds in the spotlessly clean rooms (who cares if they are a bit dated – apparently serious work is going to be done on them during 2014), and the service and personal attention from Beth and Kieran and various members of their family (including 2 Christmas cards and a small gift) – was everything we needed to make this one of the best Christmas’s we have enjoyed in a long while.

We will look forward to seeing how this best kept Cornish secret evolves over the coming months.

Thank you Beth and Kieron (and everyone else!) for a huge amount of hard work, and for staying so cheerful!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    32
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
45
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Beth, Mike, Kieran & the rest of the team, you are the new owners with a huge amount of enthusiasm & hospitality. You are doing a brilliant job! You know there is a lot of hard work ahead refurbishing & I wish you well with that.
Spent 5 glorious nights here with my wife & despite the dated decor in the bedroom it was spotlessly clean, warm, had a comfortable bed & a view to die for from the huge balcony of room 3, overlooking the whole bay, awesome!
Breakfast was hot, plentiful & well cooked, served up in the recently decorated beach style dining room, definitely influenced by Beth's bohemian style, which also runs through into the bar area.
During the week, evening meals are also served up here & offer an eclectic menu, using local & fresh produce. Again, well cooked & plentiful.
At present, the head chef, a protégé of Rick Stein, only works at weekends & if you get the opportunity to use the main restaurant, (it's open to none residents), do so!
The food is wonderful, all cooked fresh & to order, with his own Asian twist on things.
I had a Peking Duck dish with plum sauce that was absolutely delicious.
If we didn't have to get back home we would have extended our stay over the weekend & we were both sorry to leave.
All in all, look past the 70s decoration in the bedroom(s), these are being addressed & in time will be updated. Yes, you are paying for a spectacular view from the half dozen or so 'sea view' bedrooms, and to be honest... It's worth it.
I will be visiting again & hopefully sharing a JD, (or a Tarquins), sat at the tables on the beach with a sunset!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just spent two brilliant nights at this charming hotel, a lovely warm welcome on arrival felt relaxed and comfortable right away. Keiren, Beth and Mike are lovely people and although they have only taken over a short while ago had already made great improvements to the Cafe Bar and Restaurant, both being brightly decorated with a great view of the sea and beach, The plan is to update the bedrooms soon and yes they are a little tired but have everything you need and spotlessly clean. We chose to eat in the cafe bar on our first night and were not disappointed, although the choice is not huge there is something for everyone on the menu, my husband had the squid which was delicious and i had the burger, possibly the best i had ever eaten prices were excellent.Breakfast is served at the very respectable time of between 8.30. and 10.00.am which was great, who wants to get up at the crack of dawn when your on holiday, cooked breakfast was great accompanied by lovely fresh coffee. On the second night we chose to eat in the restaurant, well what can i say, chatting with Beth the previous evening i asked if there was lobster on the menu, there wasn't but if that was what we wanted she would do her best to get it and get it she did, well done chef it was beautiful, prepared and presented to perfection. On both evenings we accompanied our meal with wine there is an excellent choice. We wish these charming people every success for the future and would we go back,definitely. Thankyou for making our short break relaxing and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a stunning view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My parter and I needed somewhere to stay in Cornwall the evening before a family party, so we found this hotel on expedia and booked a night at £56 (Friday night).
Well...... what can I say???? It completely exceeded our expectations in every way!
The hotel itself is in Widecome Bay, overlooking the beach and all of the activity in terms of surfing!
When we arrived I we were greeted by one of the owners, who was really welcoming and explained everything and informed us of their restaurant opening time etc. He explained that he and his parter had only taken over the hotel a few months ago, and were currently working on the hotel by upgrading/decorating.
We were taken to our room, which was fairly basic, but had everything we needed and above all was really clean and the bed was comfortable.
we went for a walk along the coast and when we got back decided we would eat at the hotel. They have a beach cafe and a restaurant. The beach cafe is more for laid back informal dining, but was just what we were after. It opens until 9pm.
We went for a drink in the bar before dinner, there was a good choice of drinks and a fairly good wine list. The atmosphere in the bar was really laid back and friendly, which was great :)
We the went through to the cafe for dinner, plenty of choice on the menu, from noodle dishes, homemade burgers, curries. But we had the fresh caught fish and chips (there is a fresh fish shop next door!!!) We paid £7 per portion, and I have to say its one of the best Fish and Chips I have had in ages!! Again the atmosphere in the cafe is brilliant!!! To be noted if you are self catering near to here, they do takeaway at the cafe too!!
We had a good nights sleep - very quiet, and then got up for breakfast in the morning - lovely view looking out over the beach. (pic attached) breakfast was cereal, juice, toast and a cooked breakfast - the cooked breakfast was excellent, a great way to start the day.
We'll be going back to this hotel for sure, the couple had only just taken over, but it was obvious where they had made changes, and the changes were good. The only downside was that the rooms were a bit '1970s' but i'm sure the new owners will get onto giving them a new feel.
I could have stayed at the hotel for much longer but sdaly we only had a day :(

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stared here for one night while exploring the north Cornish coast.

Upon arrival, the exterior looks very dated and neglected. There were letters missing from the hotel's sign and the paintjob was drab.

On the inside, the decor is still very 1970's Heaven's waiting room. There's a Thora Hird chairlift on the stairs and the carpets are ancient.

However, the hotel has come under new management just recently, and already I can tell it's going to become a fantastic, vibrant hotel. The new staff were amazingly friendly, chatty and sociable.

The view from the hotel looks out over the bay. The drinks are reasonably priced (although I would have liked to have seen one or two local ales). The beachside cafe, which is part of the hotel, has been completely redecorated. We had our evening meal in there. I had the 'line caught fish of the day and chips' which was red gurnard, caught from the bay you can see just out the window. It tasted FANTASTIC. The food here alone is worth the five stars I have given. We also had breakfast here. The two women who served and cooked breakfast were friendly and seemed like really nice people. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty.

Although the rooms look very dated, it had everything we needed for a pleasant stay. The bed was very comfy and the area was just so quiet at night. Very peaceful!

The decor is a work in progress, but this hotel is going to be THE place to stay on the Cornish north coast.Highly recommend. Plus we got the room and breakfast for £50. Excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

It's a while since we ate at this restaurant. It has new management and redecoration. The view is the same over the sea but the menu has expanded to more than fish and chips although this is what we had. It was a lovely meal which we all enjoyed The fish was fresh, you could taste the sea! The welcome and warm of atmosphere was echoed in the bright fresh redecoration. Yes we will go again and sample another item on the new menu.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holsworthy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

On their flyers they advertise the Beach House as Widemouth's Best Kept Secret....not for much longer. What a turn around this place has had. We first visited two years ago for dinner one evening and found, like other contributors, that the premises resembled a run down nursing home. The transformation that the new owners have made exceeded all our expectations, though there is still a little work to do.
As a party of six we started with the scallops for some and mussels for the rest. Both were sourced locally, plump succulent and tasted absolutely fabulous. There was a reasonable interval between the starters and the main courses as the latter were cooked to order. Three of us had the Peking Duck, absolutely enormous with a fusion of flavours to salivate over; two had fresh fillets of Brill served with noodles and a side of fresh steamed vegetables and the last had an enormous steak with mushroom sauce and a separate side of chips. The Peking Duck, which filled the plate on its own also had side dishes of new Cornish potatoes and fresh veg.
Wine had been selected from a fairly comprehensive list and was very reasonably priced.
Unfortunately, we were all so full after the mains that we were unable to partake from the extremely tempting sweet menu, settling for coffee instead - nice and strong and hot.
The decor in the room is interesting, though the route through to the restaurant area is somewhat bland, and the bar area could do with a bit of a spruce up.There was a buzz throughout the evening of conversation from the other guests, but we were not seated that close to other tables for it to be intrusive. In the background at times you could hear a little music, but this inevitably stopped as the staff were so busy serving that they forgot to turn the machne back on. Sometimes that is a good thing! If you can get a window seat you are looking out across the beach, and the sunsets are really warm and inspiring.
We will all certainly go back when the next birthday celebration comes around. We had a fabulous time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Hotel

Address: Marine Drive | Bude, Widemouth Bay, Bude EX23 0AW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude > Widemouth Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Widemouth Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Cornwall's best kept secret in the making! Beach House is situated on the beach overlooking the stunning Widemouth bay with 1.5 miles of golden sand. With private beach access & sea view balconies, the venue offers one of the best locations in the area for a relaxing or high energy adventure beach holiday. Already gaining rave reviews, our panoramic bar, restaurant combines classic French cooking with global flavours to create an ever changing modern contemporary menu. From The Lanes in London, Rick Steins to Ryugin (a 3 star Japanese Michelin restaurant) our Vietnamese Head chef has been cooking up a storm & we have not even started yet! Enjoy delicious delectables, gin sangria on our beach jetty & sleep with the sounds of the sea. Now under new management, & work in progress watch this top 60s holiday destination turn into one of the best venues on the North coast. 1st class food, unbeatable location & budget accommodation with the best balconies in town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Beach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach House Hotel Widemouth Bay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.