We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Widemouth Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Widemouth Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Widemouth Manor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Widemouth Bay | Bude, Widemouth Bay, Bude EX23 0DE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Widemouth Bay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

29/08/2012.Went to widemouth bay, ate twice here, food was great, and good value. They do a great choice for gluten free people, also had gluten free bread, which I was told about, that was very nice, to be told and to have it. Worth going.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    22
    2
    9
    5
See reviews for
24
31
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wimbish
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

After a lovely evening meal at this hotel a couple of years ago, we decided to stay the night on a last minute trip to Bude. The staff are all so friendly and helpful, we had the honeymoon suite and it was really lovely with beautiful views and the breakfast was great too. Really fantastic little hotel will definitely stay again. Thank you :)

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite for a special treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We've been using this hotel for 10 years or more and our most recent stay was another great experience. We had a family room with a double bed and bunk beds and although the room was a little small for 4 people, it was clean, well decorated and had great views of the garden. The hotel has great facilities for children with a bouncy castle, football pitch, climbing frames and a crazy golf course!

One nice touch was that the hotel had left frisbees and beach balls for our children in the room.

Our room (number 5) had a small shower room which is fine for a short stay and it had been fitted out to a high standard.

One slight downside to the room is that you can hear the bass of the music from the restaurant below, so if you are a light sleeper, you might wish to choose a different room.

We ate here one night and all had a good meal and the breakfast was excellent and cooked to order, rather than buffet style.

The main bar is separate to the restaurant and has a pool table and a good mix of locals and tourists alike. The staff are all friendly and helpful and overall it's exactly the kind of place we like. A good bar, good grub and a decent night's sleep in a clean, well appointed room.

Room Tip: The quieter end of the hotel from room perspective would be best for light sleepers. This end would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Booked sunday lunch for 5 adults and one child ordered 2 lamb were served 2 beef changed, and the lamb was fatty. ordered 1 crispy duck, well the fat was truly wobbly my son ate the meat and left all the skin and fat, quite a pile and complained and the waitress rolled her eyes, it was definitely not crispy, they must have agreed as they gave him a free half pint as recompense. Daughter in law rquested a large starter to have as a main, it was a starter with a couple of extra crevettes, and she was charged double the starter price. One roast beef which was ok, all the food was not very hot. All in all a rip off we would have done far better at the local pub in Poughill. Overpriced, poorly cooked and not sorry at giving such poor service.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed last week at this wonderful Hotel. Rooms were clean and tidy, Staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful and the food was very very good indeed. Will definitely be staying here again and recommending to Friends and Family.
Well done!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Called in today for a meal at lunchtime. Haven't been here since it has been done up. I liked the old place ( many great nights listening to Max Piper till the early hours!) but it is now fantastic.
Staff were great, lovelt atmosphere. The food was very tasty and well presented, good value for money.
We will definately be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Went with family for a we thought would be a nice evening should have listened To the other people we met earlier in the week staff was not helpful food was over priced Phoned ahead to book tables asked if we could bring our dog told no problem however found out quite quickly that the staff hate dogs not a good start service very slow they even got our orders wrong even after repeating many times Waitress kept bumping into the table? Will not be going there again can still hear the cracking of the pool table while we were trying to eat

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Widemouth Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widemouth Manor Hotel

Address: Widemouth Bay | Bude, Widemouth Bay, Bude EX23 0DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Bude > Widemouth Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Widemouth Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Widemouth Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on the beautiful North Cornwall Coast, The Widemouth Manor Hotel is set within its own gardens, and stands high up near the cliffs that overlook Widemouth Bay near Bude. The impressive manor, acquired in 2009 by the owners of nearby Brocksmoor Hotel, has been extensively refurbished and now offers the same high standards of dining and hospitality that have gained the impressive reputation enjoyed by Brocksmoor Hotel.The hotel is stylishly decorated in cool shades of blue, reflecting its close proximity to the beaches of Widemouth Bay. The hotel offers fine dining in the elegant main restaurant which has its own bar, whilst a more relaxed atmosphere can be enjoyed in the sports bar. The bedrooms are well appointed and comfortable and for those seeking extra relaxation a spa room is available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Widemouth Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Widemouth Manor Hotel Widemouth Bay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Widemouth Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.