We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant weekend!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight to your Saves list
Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight
Lugley Street, Newport PO30 5HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Newport
glasgow
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Pleasant weekend!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We have just spent a weekend in Newport. We found the Travelodge really welcoming & our bedroom was quite smart. The towels were very fresh & really large.
The breakfast was very tasty & the staff very helpful. It is a shame though that the Bar Cafe tables & chairs had not been included in the re-furbishment.
The location is reasonably handy for the Bus Station, if you come over without your car.
We had flown down from Glasgow to visit our family.
I am pretty sure that we will stay here another time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    31
    13
    6
    7
See reviews for
43
26
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I am a regular Travelodge user and generally satisfied. This time it was fine again. I was in a group of 5, we are checked in quick and enjoyed a beer in the bar where free wifi is available. I slept like a brick and as it is in the centre of town so not much traffic noise. I have been here before and will probably come again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights during half term. The car park is more or less opposite so quite convenient, although is quite expensive £1 an hour from 8 to 6, free Wednesdays which was when we came :-) The staff in the travelodge were really warm and welcoming. Were over the moon with our room, was clean, warm, modern and very comfortable. The location is great it is right on top of Newport town centre which we thought was the best on the Isle of Wight. The breakfast was great had everything we needed and was all hot and fresh. Every encounter with the staff was great they were all kind and very helpful, a special thankyou to the lady on the desk who my little boy trick or treated on Halloween!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Best T/Lodge stayed in but let down by a poor breakfast on last day,no bacon and only frozen bread. parking a bit expensive. Very helpful staff, Comfortable bed, no draws to put clothes in if staying for a few days.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here as a family of 4 for two days. Our room was too small for a family, no extra pillows on hand and the mattress on the floor effort was so uncomfortable that I felt sorry for our 10 year old. The bathroom was very basic, towels x2 scratchy and toilet bowl....well...grim. The TV was tiny and poorly positioned for a family. I naively thought the cleaners would come in and at least top up our tea bags, all 4 of them, and empty the bin, bed making I guess was pushing it, and I had to be reminded that this isn't the Premier Inn. We were amazed at the area for breakfast and indeed the breakfast itself, we didn't bother with it on the Monday morning as people milling around in such a small space, with a lack of tables and chairs for the guests, toast only toasting on one side, juice from a machine and mushy baked beans.....poor wafer thin bacon and solid scrambled egg, it had to be seen to be believed. We just won't do Travelodge again, it is definitely the poor relation, we always stay in Premier Inns but the review for that said it was so hot....so we didn't bother....but I wish we had!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your review Suesx. We are sorry you experienced a room which was below the standards we expect, we expect all of our rooms to be clean and fresh and your room to be serviced during your stay. Our bar café staff are trained to prepare food to a great standard, so it is regrettable that the service fell below the standards we would expect on this occasion. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution. In order for us to do this please could you visit our website and use the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Have used Travelodge Hotels for some time. This time the room was almost prison cell like. Bed, plastic chair, small hanging rail, bathroom (damp smelling)

we were spending a few days with our daughter so three adults had to live out of suitcases - where are the chest of drawers, bedside tables??

This is a prime example of hotel chain not thinking through where they are situated or clientele. This is a holiday destination, not a centre for business men needing accommodation in it's basic form.

The staff were apologetic but "this is the way that Travelodge is being refurbished. Try complaining on the web site"

Have left feed back on Travelodge web site but never heard back. Clearly they do not value regular guest feedback.


Do not use this hotel if you are planning to stay more than one night.

Sorry Travelodge, you have lost my business

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback Simon C. We are sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your recent stay at Travelodge. We feel our hotels still provide the essentials needed to get a good night’s sleep whilst offering great prices and it is regrettable you did not enjoy your stay with us. We do reply to all complaints received successfully via our website and apologise for the delayed response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Was here on a business trip, the TV was small, wifi cost an arm and a leg and very noisy.

Not impressed with the standard of service would much rather pay a bit extra for an independent hotel or premier in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
We are really sorry to learn you found the hotel to be noisy MrRay2013. We want our customers to have a comfortable and relaxing stay with us. We try to reduce noise by having insulated walls and double glazing. Our staff are also trained to provide high levels of service at all times, we will ensure that the hotel management team are made aware of the concerns you have raised which will help support any improvements that need to be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight

Address: Lugley Street, Newport PO30 5HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Newport
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Newport Isle Of Wight Hotel Newport
Travel Lodge Newport
Travelodge Hotel Newport
Newport Travel Lodge
Newport Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.