We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well situated but a bad nights sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Isle Of Wight - Newport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Premier Inn Isle Of Wight - Newport to your Saves list
Premier Inn Isle Of Wight - Newport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seaclose Quay | Newport Quay, Newport PO30 2DN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence 2014
wimbledon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“well situated but a bad nights sleep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

stayed 2 nights mid june 2011, had 2 rooms booked on the ground floor. nice size rooms, lovely comfy beds. we notied there was no air con on arrival in the rooms and even thogfh the weather was not hot, the rooms were very stuffy, especially with the windows not opening much. late in the evening after we went to bed, we were woken several times by people on there way back from the restaurant and people standing right outside our windows and smoking. usually having a chat while they smoked or on the phone . not a very good nights sleep had by all. complained in the morning to staff,who didnt seem that interested. had the same problem on the second night and on check out,a diffrent lady asked if everything was ok, so i told here and she apoligised and mentioned the good nights guarentee, and offefed us a refund. on arrival home i checked my emails ans she had only refunded us 1 night and 1 rooms money! and at £93 a room per night i was not impressed. overrall a well situated hotel but if you stay here INSIST on A ROOM OVERLOOKING THE RIVER ! if you want to sleep at night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Isle Of Wight - Newport, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback very much as this enables us to improve standards and provide guests with the best possible service and a comfortable stay. Please be assured that we take all feedback seriously and on the receipt of your details, the issues raised will be fully investigated. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    172
    41
    16
    10
See reviews for
147
151
21
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Due to a family member being taken ill, I needed somewhere close to Newport. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful. Food very good and the attached restauant was really lovely and welcoming. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks Cross, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed at this hotel and we always use the Premier Inn chain. Staff great, restaurant fine. I never realised, however, how much we needed air con. We were on the ground floor and with 4 of us in the room, it got very hot! Trouble is, when you open the window, you get car noise, revellers leaving the pub and motorbikes/rubbish lorries etc which is not conducive to a great night's kip. However, we luckily had walked and drunk enough wine that I did not feel the need to claim a refund. Hotel owners: please install air con and would be bookers - try and get a room overlooking the marina to minimise the noise. Other good points which I forgot to mention for families- really nice field for football and play area on the field outside the hotel and you can follow the marina into Newport where there is a Pizza Express on Pyle Street that takes TESCO vouchers which helps with the budget. 2 meals for £11 at the Table Table restaurant during the week also a big plus and the seafood starter to share is great. All in all, a winner apart from the air con.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Good central location for travelling around the island. The Premier Inn is located next to a river which was pleasant in the evening to walk along looking at the boats moored there and also the wildlife, lots of swans. Plenty of free car park spaces, make sure you get the pass from reception. Only negative comment is do not follow the post code for your sat nav. The sat nav takes you down the correct road ok but it is blocked off near the boat museum and you can't drive your car any further. You have to turn round and try to find the correct entrance by yourself. Luckily driving in from the ferry we did see the Premier Inn sign so had an idea where it was. The room was clean and airy and the staff very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking river before u arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Big rooms, very clean, helpful staff.
The only thing is the rooms don't have air con and get a bit hot as the windows don't open that much.

We was told about there good night sleep policy and to be fair they honoured it as at 05:25 a car alarm went off for half an hour so we was refunded our payment.

Overall we was happy and would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

Had a 4 night stay here for the purpose of touring the Island. The location was superb particularly as we asked for and were allocated a room on the 2nd floor overlooking the River Medina. Hotel staff were very efficient always greeting us with a smile. Had a problem one night when a guest in the room opposite activated the smoke alarm at 3.00am and true to their word the Hotel refunded our payment for that night in line with their " Good nights sleep policy".
Had both Breakfast and Dinner at the Table Table restaurant adjacent to the Hotel. Breakfast was superb but in the evening Dinner was a little disapointing due to several items on the menu not available and my wife chose steak on 2 evenings which the chef struggled to cook as she had requested. For my part the beer was good and the staff for the most part very efficient.
Visited many of the attractions on the Island which were well signposted and would particularly recommend a visit to Osborne House.
The island itself is a very relaxing place to visit with much less traffic than the mainalnd and we were made most welcome by everyone we met.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

This is a good budget hotel and our stay was comfortable.

What we liked:
--------------------
- Cleanliness
- Comfy beds
- Friendly staff

What we desired:
-----------------------
- Need phone in the rooms. Not sure how to ping the reception in any emergency - no intercom
- A hand shower in the bath would have helped a lot to get the kids bath
- Additional plug points (something near the bed) would helped to charge the mobile phones without the disturbing the ones for the hair dryer or TV or Kettle
- At least 30 minutes free Wi-Fi per day, considering the location, as availability of 3G signal is limited
- Noise proof doors as noise in the corridor tend to get into the room very much. There were some youngsters making noise in the corridor at night which disturbed our sleep.

Room Tip: Choose rooms that face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Isle Of Wight - Newport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Isle Of Wight - Newport

Address: Seaclose Quay | Newport Quay, Newport PO30 2DN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Isle Of Wight - Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Isle Of Wight - Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel Isle Of Wight
Premier Inn Newport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Isle Of Wight - Newport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.